Barber Music Library

books

Barber Music Library
Barber Institute of Fine Art
University of Birmingham
B15 2TT

Tel: 0121 414 5852 
Fax: 0121 414 5853 

Email: music-library@bham.ac.uk

 

About the library

The Barber Music Library is located in the Barber Institute of Fine Arts, and houses the University's music collections, including books, journals, scores, audio and video recordings. 

Opening hours 

Saturday 29 March - Thursday 17 April 2014

Monday to Friday - 09:00 - 17:00

Saturday - closed

Sunday - closed

Friday 18 April - Wednesday 23 April 2014

closed

Thursday 24 April - Sunday 27 April 2014

Monday to Friday - 09:00 - 17:00

Saturday - closed

Sunday - closed

Monday 28 April - Friday 2 May 2014

Monday to Thursday - 09:00 - 19:00

Friday - 09:00 - 17:00

Saturday - 10:00 - 14:00 

Sunday - closed

Saturday 3 May - Sunday 4 May 2014

Saturday - 10:00 - 16:45

Sunday - closed

Monday 5 May 2014

09:00 - 17:00

Tuesday 6 May - Sunday 25 May 2014

Monday to Thursday - 09:00 - 19:00

Friday - 09:00 - 17:00

Saturday - 10:00 - 16:45

Sunday - closed

Monday 26 May 2014

closed

Tuesday 27 May - Saturday 31 May 2014

Monday to Thursday - 09:00 - 19:00

Friday - 09:00 - 17:00

Saturday - 10:00 - 16:45

Sunday - closed

Sunday 1 June - Friday 6 June 2014

Monday to Thursday - 09:00 - 19:00

Friday - 09:00 - 17:00

Saturday - 10:00 - 14:00

Sunday - closed

Saturday 7 June - Friday 20 June 2014

Monday to Friday - 09:00 - 17:00

Saturday - closed

Sunday - closed

Facilities

The Barber Institute and its interiors have grade II listed status and has undergone very few alterations except for the provision of up to date IT facilities. The Music library boasts collections centred on 20th-century English music and Baroque music. The facilities includes:

  • Reading Room
  • Computers
  • Issue desk
  • Periodicals Room (current and back runs of music periodicals)
  • Videos and DVDs
  • Listening stations
  • Photocopy facilities
  • Audio Visual Room 

Collections

The extensive collection covers most aspects of Western classical music. Strengths include collections of late 19th century music and collected editions and anthologies. Music special collections, which include the Elgar diaries, manuscripts of works commissioned by the Feeney Trust, and the Granville Bantock collection, are housed in the Special Collections. The collection includes:

  • Printed music
  • Vocal and orchestral sets for loan
  • Vinyl discs
  • Compact discs
  • Cassettes
  • Video
  • CD-ROM
  • Books
  • Journals/Newspapers
  • Theses
  • Concert programmes   

Disability Support

All libraries and resource centres offer the following services:

  • Book fetching 
  • Extended loans 
  • Help with catalogue 
  • Stock transfer 
  • Text Relay 

N.B. These services are available in the Barber Music Library: 09.00-17.00 Monday - Friday, but there is no book-fetching 12.00-14.00

Facilities and access

  • Parking for people with disabilities 
  • Quiet/Silent Study area 
  • Wheelchair Access 

Additional information

Just Ask!

If you have a question why not speak to a librarian with our online chat facility?


Tell us what you think...

...we want to hear from you

Tell us about your experience of using our new intranet pages. Did you find what you were looking for? Have you learnt something new today? Or do you wish we could improve your intranet experience?

Developing these intranet pages will be ongoing and, if you share your view and ideas, it will help us to continue to improve this important resource for the benefit of the entire University community.

We also welcome your comments on university internal communications in general. Email the team or pick up the phone 0121 414 6680. You can also tweet us. Whichever way you decide to get in touch we look forward to hearing what you have to say.

If you have a technical question you can contact our IT colleagues as they are much better at that stuff than we are!