Structure and service information

Structure of the service

Library Services is one of seven divisions within Academic Services. There are four departments within Library Services:

  • Library Customer Support
  • Library Academic Engagement
  • Collection Management and Development
  • Special Collections

Our services

A range of services is available at library service points, including book loans, and help and advice in relation to our printed and electronic collections. We cater for people who come to the library in person and also provide a one-stop-shop service for online and telephone enquiries.

Our collections

Our printed collections are housed in the Main Library and five site libraries. An ever-growing electronic collection of resources – books, periodicals, databases - is available online. By continually investing in technology, facilities, resources and people, we aim to support the high quality research and learning environment that the University aspires to.

Support teams

Academic support teams work closely with colleagues in Colleges to provide the information resources and services required to meet the requirements to carry out learning, teaching and research throughout the University. 

Academic support team members carry out a range of tasks including collections development and management, information skills training whilst maintaining a liaison role with in colleges to receive feedback on current and proposed services and resources.

The Academic Skills Centre helps undergraduate students develop their academic writing and general academic skills.

The Digital and Technology Skills Team designs and deliver a wide range of courses and technology training solutions to meet the developmental needs of postgraduate students, teaching, research and admin staff.

Key contacts

 Facts about the Library

  • There are 328 student-use PCs in the Main Library
  • The university libraries hold 2,671,174 catalogued books
  • The total number of study places in the university libraries is 2778
  • We hold  approximately 120,000 pre-1850 books
  • We hold about 4 million manuscripts and archives
  • We add over 15,000 printed resources to our collection every year
  • In 2010/11 the Main Library issued 367,013 books
  • In 2014/5, our ejournals were used 5,123,819 times
  • In 2014/5, our ebooks were used 1,846,252 times
  • The new Main Library building opened in 2016 
  • Books donated to the Mason College Library over a century ago laid the foundations of the University Library