The Ordinances provide more detail on the exercise of powers than in the Statutes. They distribute the authority of Council to committees and to executive officers, and control use of that authority. They contain provisions regarding the Senate, the University Executive Board and the Court, and establish key organisational structures such as Colleges and Research Institutes. 

Ordinances may be amended or augmented by the University Council.

Definitions and interpretation 

Gives definitions for the terms used in these Ordinances and states how these Ordinances should be interpreted.

Organisation and governance

This section provides information the main elements of the University’s organisational structure, including Colleges, Principal Academic Units (or Schools), Research Institutes/ Centres and the Guild of Students.

It also sets out the composition and powers of key committees, such as the Senate, the University Executive Board, College Boards and the Court.

This section also includes the rules regarding entering into contracts on behalf of the University, or collaborative agreements with other institutions, and use of the University seal.


2.1    The Colleges 

2.2    Principal Academic Units within Colleges 

2.3    University Research Institutes 

2.4    The Guild of Students 

2.5    The Guild of Graduates and Alumni Association 

2.6    Affiliation and Collaboration 

2.7    Contracts 

2.8    Use of the University Seal 

2.9    The Senate 

2.10  Powers of the Senate 

2.11  Staff Elections to the Senate 

2.12  Student Nominations to the Senate 

2.13  Co-option to Membership of the Senate 

2.14  University Executive Board 

2.15  College Boards 

2.16  Membership Committee of Council 

2.17  The Court 

2.18  Powers of the Court 

2.19  Meetings of the Court

Offices and employment 

The first part of this section contains information regarding the senior management positions within the University, such as their method of appointment and their role within the organisation. 

The latter part of this section (3.17 onwards) governs various matters related to the employment of academic staff (e.g. discipline, grievance and dismissal).

Contents and individual sections

3.1    The Chancellor 

3.2    The Pro-Chancellor 

3.3    The Deputy Pro-Chancellor 

3.4    The Treasurer 

3.5    The Vice-Principal or Vice-Principals 

3.6    Pro-Vice-Chancellors 

3.7    Deputy Pro-Vice-Chancellors 

3.8    Registrar and Secretary 

3.9    Heads of Colleges 

3.10  Heads of Principal Academic Units 

3.11  Directors of Research and Knowledge Transfer within Colleges 

3.12  Directors of Education within Colleges 

3.13  Directors of University Research Institutes 

3.14  The Public Orator(s) 

3.15  Appointment of Staff 

3.16  Appointment of Professors 

3.17  Title of Emeritus Professor 

3.18  Academic Freedom

3.19  Removal from office as Pro-Vice Chancellor, Deputy Pro-Vice Chancellor, Head of College, or such other Academic officer as had been designated by Council in accordance with Section 1 of Statute 14

3.20 Redundancy dismissals

3.21 Disciplinary procedure and dismissal

3.22 Incapacity on health grounds

3.23 Fixed-term contracts

3.24 Probation

3.25 Dismissal on other grounds

3.26 Clinical Academic staff

3.27 Grievances

Degrees, diplomas and certificates

This section contains information about the awards which the University may make, including honorary degrees, and details of how awards are conferred or revoked. The Regulations provide much more detail about the processes and criteria for obtaining a University award. 


4.1    Degrees of the University 

4.2    Diplomas and Certificates of the University 

4.3    Assessment 

4.4    Award of Substantive Degrees, Diplomas, Certificates,Scholarships, Prizes And Honours 

4.5    Conferment of Honorary Degrees 

4.6    Conferment of Degrees at Congregations 

4.7    Degrees Conferred By Special Warrant or In Absentia 

4.8    Revocation of Degrees, Diplomas, Certificates, Distinctions and Honours 

Download the complete set of ordinances 

Clock tower and University of Birmingham lamppost
Tell us what you think...

...we want to hear from you

Tell us about your experience of using our new intranet pages. Did you find what you were looking for? Have you learnt something new today? Or do you wish we could improve your intranet experience?

Developing these intranet pages will be ongoing and, if you share your view and ideas, it will help us to continue to improve this important resource for the benefit of the entire University community.

We also welcome your comments on university internal communications in general. Email the team or pick up the phone 0121 414 6680. You can also tweet us. Whichever way you decide to get in touch we look forward to hearing what you have to say.

If you have a technical question you can contact our IT colleagues as they are much better at that stuff than we are!