Awards for Excellence in Doctoral Research Supervision 2015

2015 Awards for Excellence in Doctoral Research Supervision

We are pleased to announce that nominations for the third University Awards for Excellence in Doctoral Supervision open as of the 5 January 2015.

About the awards

These awards recognise and reward outstanding supervision of doctoral researchers.  As a research-intensive university, Birmingham is committed to carrying out research that is world-leading in terms of its originality and distinctiveness, significance and rigour. The awards recognise the significant contribution made by academic supervisors to the successful completion of high-class doctoral research at the University. Five winners will be selected, one for each college. The selection process will involve senior academics and doctoral researchers, with the winning supervisors each receiving a prize of £1000 to support their research.

Who can make nominations

Current PhD researchers and academic members of staff. Please note: MPhil/MRes students are not able to nominate supervisors.


Any current Birmingham academic member of staff who has supervised at least two doctoral researchers to completion. Previous winners will only be considered in exceptional circumstances.

How to make a nomination

Nominations open on 5 January 2015. Before submitting a nomination please ensure that the person you are nominating has given permission for you to do so. Forms where the supervisor has not given permission will not be accepted.

Nominations must be made on the standard nomination form:

Please fill out all sections of the form and remember to include the supporting statements, including from your Head of School. The statements should demonstrate how the nominated person meets or exceeds the judging criteria. See the guidance notes for more details:

Please submit your completed form to the University Graduate School ( no later than 9 March 2015. Late or incomplete nominations will not be accepted.

If you have any questions about the process, please email

Posted on Monday 6th January 2014
Tell us what you think...

...we want to hear from you

Tell us about your experience of using our new intranet pages. Did you find what you were looking for? Have you learnt something new today? Or do you wish we could improve your intranet experience?

Developing these intranet pages will be ongoing and, if you share your view and ideas, it will help us to continue to improve this important resource for the benefit of the entire University community.

We also welcome your comments on university internal communications in general. Email the team or pick up the phone 0121 414 6680. You can also tweet us. Whichever way you decide to get in touch we look forward to hearing what you have to say.

If you have a technical question you can contact our IT colleagues as they are much better at that stuff than we are!