University Graduate School Awards results 2014

Congratulations to all of the winning postgraduate researchers and supervisors recognised at this year's awards.

It is the the University Graduate School's privilege to recognise the achievements of our postgraduate researchers and their supervisors at our annual University Graduate School Awards event. We congratulate all of those who were short-listed for and won awards this year. We will be running another awards event in the 2014-15 academic year, with nominations opening for the Michael K O'Rourke prize for best PhD publication and Excellence in Supervision awards opening in December 2014 and January 2015 respectively.

Postgraduate Certificate in Advanced Research Methods and Skills (PGCARMS) certificates

The following postgraduate researchers successfully completed the University Graduate School's PGCARMS programme in the 2013-14 Academic year:

  • Adam Bibbey
  • Bernadette McCooey
  • Evi Argyrou
  • Maria Kozlovskaya
  • Sarah Turner

Professor Alice Roberts award for public engagement 

The University Graduate School's public engagement module, part of the PGCARMS programme, concluded with an assessment of the participants public engagement activities by a panel including Professor Roberts. This award is given to the best public engagement activity presented to the panel, as selected by Professor Roberts. It was awarded to:

  • Sian Bailey

STEM summer placement scheme

The University Graduate School has supported a new STEM summer placement scheme run by Dr Laura Vickers which encourages postgraduate researchers and academic research staff to design and supervise a project involving local school pupils. This year, the postgraduate researcher selected as project supervisor was:

  • Nicola White
  • Raquel Fernandez Del Rio

The Awards for Excellence in Doctoral Research Supervision

These awards recognise the significant contribution made by academic supervisors to the successful completion of high-class doctoral research at the University. The winners are:

  • Dr Ruth Macrides (College of Arts and Law)
  • Professor Chris Parker (College of Engineering and Physical Sciences)
  • Dr Catherine Hamilton-Giachritsis (College of Life and Environmental Sciences)
  • Professor Ian Henderson (College of Medical and Dental Sciences) - Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Professor Joanne Duberley (College of Social Sciences)

The Michael K. O'Rourke prize for best PhD publication

This is a prestigious award for postgraduate researchers who have made outstanding contributions in terms of publication of their research. The winners are:

  • Judith Allan, College of Arts and Law, joint College winner for: Lorenzo’s Star and Savonarola’s Serpent: Changing Representations of Simonetta Cattaneo Vespucci
  • Jennifer Bradbeer, College of Engineering and Physical Sciences, College winner for: Self-structuring foods based on acid-sensitive low and high acyl mixed gellan systems to impact on satiety
  • Hannah Botfield, College of Medical and Dental Sciences, College winner for: Decorin prevents the development of juvenile communicating hydrocephalus
  • Rebecca Morris, College of Social Sciences, joint College winner for: The Admissions Criteria of Secondary Free Schools
  • Liam Stanley, College of Social Sciences, joint College winner for: ‘We're Reaping What We Sowed’: Everyday Crisis Narratives and Acquiescence to the Age of Austerity
  • Daisy Payling, College of Arts and Law, joint College winner and joint overall winner for: 'Socialist Republic  of South Yorkshire': Grassroots activism and left-wing solidarity in 1980s Sheffield
  • Martin D. Ezcurra, College of Life and Environmental Sciences, College winner and joint overall winner for: The Origin and Early Evolution of Sauria: Reassessing the Permian Saurian Fossil Record and the Timing of the Crocodile-Lizard Divergence