EPS Research Support

Welcome to the intranet site for the EPS Research Support team.

The role of the team is to maximise college Reasearch and Knowledge Transfer activities through identification, development and exploitation of new research and knowledge transfer opportunities, both within the University and through collaborations with external bodies. This is achieved by delivering an effective research support, advisory and management service.

The team is divided into two main functions, one providing the direct interface with Schools in the College (3 staff managing a “cluster” of 3 Schools each), the second function engaged in major pan-College Projects (systems and process development or theme-focussed R&KT, e.g. Energy). 


R&KT Support team


David Boardman – Acting head of R&KT & Head of Strategic Projects 

ext 45086, d.i.boardman@bham.ac.uk


John Woodward – Senior R&KT Manager (Chemistry, Chemical Engineering, Metallurgy & Materials)

 ext 45158 j.woodward@bham.ac.uk


Padma Reddy, R&KT Manager (Maths, Computer Science, Electronic, Electrical & Systems Engineering)

ext 48815, p.reddy@cs.bham.ac.uk


Francesco Colacino  –  Research Support Officer  (Commercialisation)

ext 42216, f.colacino@bham.ac.uk


Greg Howard  R&KT Manager (Civil Engineering)

ext 48940, g.howard@bham.ac.uk


Priyanka Sharma  R&KT Manager (Mechanical Engineering)

ext 58536 p.k.sharma@bham.ac.uk


Gavin Harper – Energy Development Manager

ext 48940 g.d.j.harper@bham.ac.uk


Claire Farrell – Team Administrator

ext 47619, c.m.farrell@bham.ac.uk


Your Research Support Team 
Who we are and what we do

Applications and Procedures

Funding Opportunities
Where to search for funding

College Equipment & Facilities

R&KT Committee
Membership information & minutes

Summary of signficant awards across EPS

Upcoming events in EPS 





Access funding calls relevant to your college by clickign on the Research Professional logo above

Tell us what you think...

...we want to hear from you

Tell us about your experience of using our new intranet pages. Did you find what you were looking for? Have you learnt something new today? Or do you wish we could improve your intranet experience?

Developing these intranet pages will be ongoing and, if you share your view and ideas, it will help us to continue to improve this important resource for the benefit of the entire University community.

We also welcome your comments on university internal communications in general. Email the team or pick up the phone 0121 414 6680. You can also tweet us. Whichever way you decide to get in touch we look forward to hearing what you have to say.

If you have a technical question you can contact our IT colleagues as they are much better at that stuff than we are!