LADDER - Learning and Development Directory for ER

The Learning and Development Directory for ER (LADDER) showcases the opportunities we provide for ER staff to expand their knowledge, learn new skills and develop their careers.

Some are specific to External Relations and others are delivered through POD or external providers. All of the activities are aligned to the Birmingham Professional, and is part of our commitment to support colleagues to succeed.

 External Relations Events

View and register for events such as Lunch and Learn, fun activities, and other training on our Calendar of Events.

 Professional Development Opportunities

For information about Learning and development opportunities offered by the University's People and Organisational Development unit (POD)

Birmingham Professional

In addition to the POD courses we will be running sessions tailored to ER staff which reflect common training and development requests identified during PDRs. These will cover everything from Project Management and mastering Excel to presentation skills and customer service. Please put forward suggestions through your line manager. 

 Sharing Learning Experiences

ER actively supports the professional development of all our staff. Sharing knowledge and experience gained from training is a great way to find out if a certain programme could be of benefit to you.  

Below is a list of ER colleagues who are either currently taking part or have recently completed training schemes and would love to tell you all about it!

ILM - Institute of Leadership and Management

Katy Caves ILM, Level 2, k.a.caves@bham.ac.uk, Ext: 58088

Nicky Gillece ILM, Level 2, n.d.gillece@bham.ac.uk, Ext: 47179

Rebecca Lewis ILM, Level 3, r.lewis.3@bham.ac.uk, Ext: 46680 

 

SLP – Senior Leadership Programme 

Jo Kite, j.r.kite@bham.ac.uk, Ext: 48470

 

ELP – Emerging Leadership Programme

Carla Amos, c.j.amos@bham.ac.uk, Ext: 47729

Jo Labudek, j.s.labudek@bham.ac.uk, Ext: 58208

 

Coaching and Mentoring

Lee Lynch, l.m.lynch@bham.ac.uk, Ext: 46543

Gail Rothnie, g.h.rothnie@bham.ac.uk, Ext: 58545

 

U21 Fellowships

The Fellowship programme is designed to provide support to Birmingham staff who have demonstrated innovation and excellence in their field and who are likely to benefit from an extended period of professional development which, in turn, will benefit the University.

Catherine Byerley, c.j.byerley@bham.ac.uk, Ext: 42506

Catherine travelled to the University of Connecticut in 2014–15 on a U21 Staff Fellowship, exploring best practice in North American higher education media relations and communications.

The Staff Fellowship Programme is co-ordinated by U21 Project Officer Matt Clulee, based in International Relations. Contact Matt at m.clulee@bham.ac.uk, Ext: 45323.