Student Recruitment and Outreach

Responsible for the recruitment of students located within the UK and overseas, the office comprises four teams focussing on different types of recruitment: 

  • Undergraduate
  • Postgraduate and Doctoral Researcher
  • Outreach
  • International

The Undergraduate team is also responsible for the University’s Undergraduate Open Days in June, September and October of each year.
The Postgraduate team recruits applicants onto Postgraduate Taught programmes and supports students wishing to apply for a PhD.
The Outreach team also operate the University’s acclaimed Access to Birmingham (A2B) scheme which works with applicants who have faced some form of challenge in their life or academic study, supporting them through the process of applying to the University.
The International team recruits students on to foundation, undergraduate and postgraduate programmes and travels extensively throughout the year to key recruiting territories.

General Enquiries

Student Recruitment
Email - studentrecruitment@contacts.bham.ac.uk
Telephone - +44 (0)121 414 3374

Outreach
Email: outreach@contacts.bham.ac.uk
Telephone - +44 (0)121 414 6722

Key people

Director of Recruitment
Dr Alaric Rae
Email - a.c.rae@bham.ac.uk 
Telephone - +44 (0)121 414 2221

PA to the Director
Jessica Oakes
Email - j.l.oakes@bham.ac.uk
Telephone - +44 (0)121 414 2242

Head of Postgraduate Recruitment
Stephen Allmark
Email - s.j.allmark@bham.ac.uk
Telephone - +44 (0) 121 414 5430

Head of Outreach
Gail Rothnie
Email - g.h.rothnie@bham.ac.uk
Telephone - +44 (0) 121 415 8545

Head of UK and EU Undergraduate Recruitment
Elizabeth Chandler (days) Tuesday - Thursday
Email - e.chandler@bham.ac.uk
Telephone - +44 (0) 121 414 8599

Head of International Recruitment
Elijah James
Email - e.james@bham.ac.uk
Telephone - +44 (0)121 414 9196

Students outside