Contact Us

 

Please Note:

The Business Engagement team are currently working remotely, during restricted operations on campus due to COVID-19. At this time, the best way to reach us is by email to businessteam@contacts.bham.ac.uk

 

 Gurmit Kler_004

Gurmit Kler - Director of Business Engagement

g.kler@bham.ac.uk +44 (0)121 414 6649

Gurmit leads the Business Engagement Team in the delivery of its strategy, setting KPIs and monitoring progress against targets across all the Colleges.

 

Vickie Pargetter_003

Vickie Pargetter - Deputy Director of Business Engagement

V.A.Pargetter@bham.ac.uk

Vickie supports the delivery of the Business Engagement strategy, as well as managing marketing and communications for the team.

   
  College of Engineering and Physical Sciences

Alasdair 125 125

Alasdair Maclachlan - Strategic Business Engagement Partner 

 a.maclachlan@bham.ac.uk +44 (0)7920 878578

Alasdair  is responsible for the strategic development and implementation of the business engagement strategy within EPS and ensuring that resulting opportunities are delivered with key internal and external stakeholders. He supports the University’s business engagement in the sectors of Advanced Manufacturing (both material science and engineering), Transport, and propulsion focussed Energy research.


Jack_Tasker_031.CR2.p

 Jack Tasker - Business Engagement Partner

 J.B.Tasker@bham.ac.uk  +44 (0)7970 987037

Jack supports the following sectors: smart infrastructure, fast moving consumer goods, energy systems and healthcare technologies.


rachel d

Rachel Draper - Business Engagement Partner

 r.l.draper@bham.ac.uk

Rachael is the Business Engagement Partner for Birmingham Energy Institute and wider University brokering partnerships with industry in energy based research and technologies and storage solutions.


Nick H

Nick Haigh - Business Engagement Partner

n.haigh@bham.ac.uk

   
  College of Medical and Dental Sciences

Richard Fox_005

Richard Fox - Strategic Business Engagement Partner

r.fox@bham.ac.uk  +44 (0)7964 908 616

Richard is responsible for the strategic development and implementation of the business engagement strategy within the Medical and Dental School as well as with Birmingham Health Partners and leads the business engagement team across these areas. Richard is also responsible for industry stakeholder engagement for the Birmingham Health Innovation Campus.


Flo G

Florence Gannon - Business Engagement Partner 

f.gannon@bham.ac.uk  Mobile: +44 (0)7920 088772 Direct line: +44 (0)121 371 8475

Florence is responsible for the development and implementation of the business engagement strategy within MDS. Florence covers the following areas:

  • Cancer and Genomics
  • Immunology and Immunotherapy
  • Microbiology and Infection 
  • Clinical trials

Jo 125 125 3

Joanna Smith - Business Engagement Partner 

j.l.j.smith@bham.ac.uk Direct line: +44 (0)121 371 8476 Mobile: +44 (0)7967 771 347 

Joanna is responsible for the development and implementation of the business engagement strategy within MDS.  She identifies opportunities to collaborate with industry and has a keen focus on promoting the translational aspects of research. Joanna is currently working closely with the following Institutes:

  • Inflammation and Ageing
  • Applied Health
  • Health Data


Jess Stede_002

Jessica Stede - Business Engagement Partner - MDS

j.stede@bham.ac.uk +44 (0) 7966 996429 

Jessica works across the Birmingham Health Partners medical campus, helping to bring investigator-led research collaborations to fruition. Jessica's focus is on: 

  • Cardiovascular Sciences
  • Metabolism and Systems Research
  • Clinical Sciences
   
  The Colleges of Social Science, Arts and Law and Life and Environmental Sciences

James 125 125

James Sharp - Business Engagement Partner - CoSS 

j.s.sharp@bham.ac.uk 

James is responsible for the development and implementation of the business engagement strategy within CoSS with a specialism in AI and emerging technologies.


AndrewMiles_digital

Andrew Miles - Corporate Relations Manager - Birmingham Business School 

a.t.miles@bham.ac.uk 0121 414 6254 

Andrew leads on the delivery of Birmingham Business School's corporate strategy, as well as managing key accounts that contribute to the University of Birmingham's business engagement mandate. Andrew works closely with the different research centres at the Business School to identify the best means of creating external partnerships and matching graduate talent, research expertise, and academic consultancy to a range of businesses and not-for-profit organisations. He also manages the Business School’s Advisory Board activity. 

Holly 125

Holly Searson - Business Engagement Partner - LES                                    

 h.l.searson@bham.ac.uk   + 44 (0)7970 397 568 

Holly is responsible for the development and implementation of the business engagement strategy within LES focusing on areas such as healthy ageing, air pollution and mental health.

   
  International - Asia

Bing_Liu_009

Bing Liu - Business Engagement Partner

b.liu.2@bham.ac.uk +44 (0)121 414 8647

   
  Degree Apprenticeships


Sam_Hickman_001 cropped

Sam Hickman - Degree Apprenticeships Manager

+44 (0)7976 230 204

Sam is responsible for the strategic development and implementation of the Degree Apprenticeship strategy at the University. Working with teams across the University and its constituent Colleges, Sam develops and supports relationship and contract management with employers involved in the provision of Degree Apprenticeships. Sam also leads on Continuous Improvement activity within the Business Engagement team.

   
  Marketing and Communications Team

Helen 125

Helen Toft - Head of Marketing and Communications

H.M.Toft@bham.ac.uk +44 (0)121 414 8100 

Helen focuses on the business engagements team's communications strategy, including digital.

Lauren 125 125

Lauren Davies - Events Manager

l.j.walsh@bham.ac.uk +44 (0)121 414 4002

Lauren manages the business engagement events programme and works across digital comms projects with a focus on sponsorship and exhibitions.

Laura 125

Laura Myatt - Events Manager 

(currently on parental leave)

L.Myatt@bham.ac.uk +44 (0)121 414 4002

kim_125px

Kim Ekste  - Communications Officer 

K.S.M.Ekste@bham.ac.uk +44 (0)121 414 8921

Kim focuses on our content engine and covers the website and social media channels.

   
  Administration Team
Jazz Jemahl_008

Jazz Jemahl - PA to Gurmit Kler

j.jemahl@bham.ac.uk +44 (0)121 414 8160

Tracey  125 125

Tracy Shepherd - Business Engagement Administrator for CoSS EPS and LES 

t.shepherd@bham.ac.uk +44 (0) 121 414 8647

 

Colleges

Professional Services