Contact Us

Gurmit Kler_004

Director of Business Engagement

Gurmit Kler

g.kler@bham.ac.uk +44 (0)121 414 6649

Gurmit leads the Business Engagement Team in the delivery of its strategy, setting KPIs and monitoring progress against targets across all the Colleges. 

Vickie Pargetter_003

Deputy Director of Business Engagement

Vickie Pargetter

V.A.Pargetter@bham.ac.uk

Vickie supports the delivery of the Business Engagement strategy, as well as managing marketing and communications for the team. 

 College of Engineering and Physical Sciences

Alasdair 125 125

 Alasdair Maclachlan - Strategic Business Engagement Partner 

 a.maclachlan@bham.ac.uk +44 (0)7920 878578

 

Alasdair  is responsible for the strategic development and implementation of the business engagement strategy within EPS and ensuring that resulting opportunities are delivered with key internal and external stakeholders. He supports the University’s business engagement in the sectors of Advanced Manufacturing (both material science and engineering), Transport, and propulsion focussed Energy research.

 

Jack_Tasker_031.CR2.p

 Jack Tasker - Business Engagement Partner

 J.B.Tasker@bham.ac.uk  +44 (0)7970 987037

 

Jack supports the following sectors: smart infrastructure, fast moving consumer goods, energy systems and healthcare technologies. 

College of Medical and Dental Sciences 

 

Richard Fox_005

Richard Fox - Strategic Business Engagement Partner

 r.fox@bham.ac.uk  +44 (0)7964 908 616

 

Richard is responsible for the strategic development and implementation of the business engagement strategy within the Medical and Dental School as well as with Birmingham Health Partners and leads the business engagement team across these areas. Richard is also responsible for industry stakeholder engagement for the Birmingham Life Sciences Park.

 

Flo G

 Florence Gannon - Business Engagement Partner 

 f.gannon@bham.ac.uk  Mobile: +44 (0)7920 088772 Direct line: +44 (0)121 371 8475

 

Florence is responsible for the development and implementation of the business engagement strategy within MDS. Florence covers the following areas:

  • Cancer and Genomics
  • Immunology and Immunotherapy
  • Microbiology and Infection 
  • Clinical trials

 

Jo 125 125 3

Joanna Smith - Business Engagement Partner 

 j.l.j.smith@bham.ac.uk Direct line: +44 (0)121 371 8476 Mobile: +44 (0)7967 771 347 

 

Joanna is responsible for the development and implementation of the business engagement strategy within MDS.  She identifies opportunities to collaborate with industry and has a keen focus on promoting the translational aspects of research. Joanna is currently working closely with the following Institutes:

  • Inflammation and Ageing
  • Applied Health
  • Health Data

 

Jess Stede_002

Jessica Stede - Business Engagement Partner - MDS

j.stede@bham.ac.uk +44 (0) 7966 996429 

 

Jessica works across the Birmingham Health Partners medical campus, helping to bring investigator-led research collaborations to fruition. Jessica's focus is on: 

  • Cardiovascular Sciences
  • Metabolism and Systems Research
  • Clinical Sciences  

College of Social Sciences, College of Life and Environmental Sciences and College of Arts and Law

Andy Newnham_008

Andy Newnham - Strategic Business Engagement Partner - CoSS / CAL / LES                                         

a.newnham@bham.ac.uk +44 (0)7964 911458

 

Andy is responsible for the strategic development and implementation of the business engagement strategy within CoSS, CAL and LES. He identifies opportunities to collaborate with industry and has a keen focus on the University’s response to the government’s Industrial Strategy. 

 

James 125 125

James Sharp - Business Engagement Partner - CoSS                                                                                                   

j.s.sharp@bham.ac.uk

James is responsible for the development and implementation of the business engagement strategy within CoSS with a specialism in AI and emerging technologies.

 

AndrewMiles_digitalAndrew Miles - Corporate Relations Manager - Birmingham Business School 

a.t.miles@bham.ac.uk 0121 414 6254

 


Andrew leads on the delivery of Birmingham Business School's corporate strategy, as well as managing key accounts that contribute to the University of Birmingham's business engagement mandate. Andrew works closely with the different research centres at the Business School to identify the best means of creating external partnerships and matching graduate talent, research expertise, and academic consultancy to a range of businesses and not-for-profit organisations. He also manages the Business School’s Advisory Board activity. 

 

Holly 125

  Holly Searson - Business Engagement Partner - LES                                           

  h.l.searson@bham.ac.uk   + 44 (0)7970 397 568 

 

 


Holly is responsible for the development and implementation of the business engagement strategy within LES focusing on areas such as healthy ageing, air pollution and mental health.

International - Asia

Bing_Liu_009

Bing Liu - Business Engagement Partner

b.liu.2@bham.ac.uk +44 (0)121 414 8647

 

Degree Apprenticeships 

Sam_Hickman_001 cropped

 

Sam Hickman - Degree Apprenticeships Manager

 +44 (0)7976 230 204

 

Sam is responsible for the strategic development and implementation of the Degree Apprenticeship strategy at the University. Working with teams across the University and its constituent Colleges, Sam develops and supports relationship and contract management with employers involved in the provision of Degree Apprenticeships. Sam also leads on Continuous Improvement activity within the Business Engagement team.  

Marketing and Communications Team  

Lauren 125 125

Lauren Davies - Events Manager

l.j.walsh@bham.ac.uk +44 (0)121 414 4002

 Lauren focuses on partnership events and external exhibitions.

 

Laura 125

Laura Myatt - Events Manager  

L.Myatt@bham.ac.uk +44 (0)121 414 4002

 Laura focuses business engagement and College-led events. 

 

Helen 125

Helen Toft - Communications Manager 

H.M.Toft@bham.ac.uk +44 (0)121 414 8100

 Helen focuses on the business engagements team's communications srategy, including digital. 

 

Kim Ekste  - Communications Officer 

K.S.M.Ekste@bham.ac.uk +44 (0)121 414 8921

 Kim focuses on the business engagements team's content engine, covering the website and social media.  

 

Jazz Jemahl_008

Jazz Jemahl - PA to Gurmit Kler

j.jemahl@bham.ac.uk +44 (0)121 414 8160

 

 

Tracey  125 125

 

Tracy Shepherd Business Engagement Administrator for CoSS EPS and LES 

t.shepherd@bham.ac.uk +44 (0) 121 414 8647 

 

 

Colleges

Professional Services