Contact Us

 

BE_group - Copy

Gurmit Kler_004

Head of Business Engagement

Gurmit Kler

g.kler@bham.ac.uk
+44 (0)121 414 6649

Gurmit leads the Business Engagement Team in the delivery of its strategy, setting KPIs and monitoring progress against targets.

Vickie Pargetter_003Deputy Head of Business Engagement

Victoria Pargetter

v.a.pargetter@bham.ac.uk
+44 (0)121 414 7614

As deputy to Gurmit Kler, Vickie leads on the business engagement communications and events strategy to generate leads and support the delivery of the business engagement targets. 

Lauren 125 125Events Manager

Lauren Davies

 l.j.walsh@bham.ac.uk
+44 (0)121 414 4002

Lauren is responsible for the planning and delivery of business focussed events. She works with the Business Engagement Partners to identify, plan and deliver events that generate awareness of the University’s offer to business and to generate leads.

Jack 125 125Communications Manager 

Jack Tasker 

J.B.Tasker@bham.ac.uk
+44 (0)121 414 8635

Jack is responsble for the Business Engagement team’s communications. He works with Business Engagment Partners to highlight potential stories to promote the collaborative work of the acadmics and buisnesses to both internal and external audiences. 

Jazz Jemahl_008PA to Gurmit Kler

Jazz Jemahl

j.jemahl@bham.ac.uk
+44 (0)121 414 8160

 Jazz provides PA Support to Gurmit Kler, Director of Business Engagement.

Tracey 125 125

Business Engagement Administrator - EPS / CoSS

Tracy Shepherd

t.shepherd@bham.ac.uk

 

Jenny 125 125

Business Engagement Administrator - MDS / LES

Jenny Needham

j.todd@bham.ac.uk

 

College of Engineering and Physical Sciences

Richard Fox_005Strategic Business Engagement Partner - EPS

Richard Fox

r.fox@bham.ac.uk
+44 (0)121 414 8921

Richard is responsible for the strategic development and implementation of the business engagement strategy within EPS. Richard works closely with the following sectors:

• Defence
• Cyber Security

Sam_Hickman_001

Business Engagement Partner - EPS                                        

Sam Hickman                                                                        

s.j.hickman@bham.ac.uk                                                       
+44 (0)121 414 4271

Sam is responsible for the development and implementation of the business engagement strategy within EPS.  He identifies opportunities to collaborate with industry.  Sam works closely with the following sectors:

• Energy
• Sustainable Infrastructure
• FMCG
• Healthcare

Alisdair 125 125

Business Engagement Partner - EPS                                          

Alasdair Maclachlan                                                                     

a.maclachlan@bham.ac.uk                                                  
+44 (0)7920 878578

Alasdair is responsible for the development and implementation of the business engagement strategy within EPS.  He identifies opportunities to collaborate with industry, with a focus on: 

• Digital Manufacturing
• Energy
• Automotive

College of Medical and Dental Sciences 

Anne Simper_006Strategic Business Engagement Partner - MDS / LES                                          

Anne Simper                                                                         

a.simper@bham.ac.uk                                                           
+44 (0)121 414 4056

Anne is responsible for the strategic development and implementation of the business engagement strategy within MDS. Anne works closely with the following Institutes:

• Applied Health Research
• Microbiology and Infection
• Inflammation and Ageing
• Immunology and Immunotherapy

Cathy Wardius_011

Business Engagement Partner - MDS

Catherine Wardius

c.a.wardius@bham.ac.uk
+44 (0)121 414 4056

Cathy is responsible for the development and implementation of the business engagement strategy within MDS. Cathy works closely with the following Institutes:

• Clinical Sciences
• Cardiovascular Science
• Cancer and Genomics
• Metabolism and Systems Research

Jo125 125

Business Engagement Partner - MDS

Joanna Smith

j.l.j.smith@bham.ac.uk
+44 (0)121 414 4056
 +44 (0)7855 349 283 

Joanna is responsible for the development and implementation of the business engagement strategy within MDS.  She identifies opportunities to collaborate with industry and has a keen focus on promoting the translational aspects of research. Joanna is currently working closely with the following Institutes:

  • Applied Health Research
  • Cancer and Genomics - specifically supporting the Birmingham Rare Diseases Initiative
  • Microbiology and Infection 
Jess Stede_002

Business Engagement Officer - MDS

Jessica Stede

j.stede@bham.ac.uk
+44 (0) 121 371 8455

 Jessica is responsible for providing additional support to the Business Engagement Partners. 

College of Social Sciences, College of Life and Environmental Sciences and College of Arts and Law

Andy Newnham_008Strategic Business Engagement Partner - CoSS / CAL / LES                                         

Andy Newnham                                                             

a.newnham@bham.ac.uk                                                     
+44 (0)7964 911458

Andy is responsible for the strategic development and implementation of the business engagement strategy within CoSS, CAL and LES. He identifies opportunities to collaborate with industry and has a keen focus on the University’s response to the government’s Industrial Strategy. Andy also leads on Degree Apprenticeships activity.

James 125 125Business Engagement Partner - CoSS                                          

James Sharp                                                             

j.s.sharp@bham.ac.uk                                                 

James is responsible for the development and implementation of the business engagement strategy within CoSS.

Holly 125 125

Business Engagement Partner - LES                                           

Holly Searson                                                                   

h.l.searson@bham.ac.uk                                              
+44 (0)7970 397 568 

Holly is responsible for the development and implementation of the business engagement strategy within LES.

International - Asia

Bing_Liu_009Business Engagement Partner

Bing Liu

b.liu.2@bham.ac.uk
+44 (0)121 414 8647