College International Committee

The purpose of this committee is to develop an international profile for the College, coordinating international activity and ensuring a coherent approach to all matters international.

Committee members

Chair Professor David Dunn
College Director of Internationalisation                  
Deputy Chair TBC
Deputy Director of Internationalisation                  
Members Professor Richard Black 
Head of College                                                                 
  Dr Graham Timmins
Director of Education                                                     
  Lorraine Gaytten 
Director of Operations                                                   
  Keith Portman
College Professional Services Lead for
Internationalisation and Secretary                           
  Elijah James
Head of International Recruitment                           
  Dr Toby Kendall
Birmingham International Academy                         
  Dr Erica Arthur
Director of International Development and Mobility              
College Alumni Relations Partner                               
  Lindsey Wright
College Planning Partner                                               
  Professor David Dickinson
College Lead for China                                                    
College Lead for India                                                     
  Dr Marco Vieira
College Lead for Brazil                                                    
  Dr Kelly Hall              
College Lead for America (Chicago)                         
  Dr Toby Kendall
Middle East/Dubai Champion                                      
  Dr Dina Kiwin
Lead, School of Education                                            
  Professor Barbara Fawcett
Lead, School of Social Policy                                         
  Dr Jonathan Fisher
Lead, School of Government and Society               
  Professor Derek Condon 
Lead, Birmingham Business School                           
 In attendance Karan Houghton
Research and Innovations Services Rep                 
  Madeleine McGarrie 
Digital Marketing and Communications Manager    

If you have any enquiries regarding the College International Committee, please contact:

Naazlin Somani, Committee Secretary
T: +44 (0)121 414 7064

International Travel Funding

College Travel Funds

The College has an International Travel Fund which exists to facilitate the creation of high quality joint publications with academics at overseas universities, or to facilitate joint research applications with overseas academics for major research funding. You can download more details about the scheme and the application process here (PDF, 453KB)

University Travel Funds

The University offers the Birmingham International Engagement Fund, which aims to increase effectiveness of internal travel funds in raising the University's reputation. More details about the application process can be downloaded here (Word, 35KB).  

Equalities Conference Travel Support Fund

The College has an Equalities Conference Travel Support Fund to support care at home while you attend a conference or to supplement travel costs. Colleagues will be able to make a maximum of one application per year, for up to £500. Find out how to apply for the Equalities Conference Travel Support Fund.

International Summer School Opportunities and Bursaries

Our partner universities provide exciting opportunities to engage with your peers from around the globe every summer. International Relations at the University of Birmingham have a number of bursaries available every year to support our students participation in these events. 

Apply for the summer schools

List of bursaries on offer:

 “There were many great experiences! The people, the culture, the schooling and quality of teaching were all fantastic, as were the multiple opportunities to undertake extracurricular trips or activities.” Grace Hatton, UoB student who attend the Korea University ISC