College Education Committee

The purpose of this Committee is to provide impartial and independent advice, via the College Director of Education, to the Head of College and College Board on all matters relating to learning and teaching in the College in order to maintain and promote excellent and effective learning and teaching.

The group has responsibility for supporting the Director of Education and each other and for making recommendations to the Head of College and College Board in three broad areas: 

  • Strategy in relation to Learning and Teaching across the College (specifically, who we teach, what, how, and at what fee?)
  • Strategic oversight of School Learning and Teaching process – including approval and deletion of programmes and modules
  • Actions to promote the collective reputation of the College as a centre of academic excellence for the study of the Social Sciences including the strategic oversight and, where appropriate, the co-ordination, marketing and financial arrangements for all programmes

Committee membership

  • College Director of Education (Chair) - Catherine Mangan
  • Deputy Director of Operations, Education (Secretary) - David Allsop
  • College Deputy Director of Education - Toby Kendall
  • Head of Education, Birmingham Business School - Daniel Herbert
  • Head of Education, School of Education - Kevin Myers
  • Head of Education, School of Government - Mark Wenman
  • Head of Education, School of Social Policy - Harriet Clarke
  • College Academic Policy Partner - Jennifer Palmer
  • Guild of Students representative - Joanne Park
  • Undergraduate College Representative - Patrick Uriot
  • Postgraduate Taught College Representative - Nicola Newman
  • Postgraduate Research College Representative - Andrea Davis
  • Learning and Teaching Manager, Birmingham Business School - Samantha Gardiner
  • Learning and Teaching Manager, School of Education - Rebecca Shales
  • Learning and Teaching Manager, School of Government - Ben Clarke
  • Learning and Teaching Manager, School of Social Policy - Emily Barrett
  • Educational Developer - Els Van Geyte
  • Partnership and Development Manager - David Price
  • Student Experience and Welfare Manager - Natalie Jordan

Terms of Reference and minutes of previous meetings

College Programme Approval and Review Sub-Committee

The purpose of this sub-committee is to audit programmes in the College and to make recommendations to the College Learning & Teaching Committee and College Board concerning the approval and deletion of modules and programmes.

Find out more

For more information on the work of the College Education Committee and its sub-committee contact the committee secretary: Frances Collins

Tel:  0121 414 8964 (ext. 48964)


Professional Services