Teaching Academy Awards for Educational Enhancement and Innovation

The Teaching Academy Awards for Educational Enhancement and Innovation, are to reward and recognise staff from across the University who provide, and contribute to, an inspirational student experience and to raise the profile of such activity throughout the University through the nominations and award-giving process. The awards are complementary to the VC/Guild of students Outstanding Teaching Awards.  All staff, academic and professional, are eligible for nomination.

 Jeremy Pritchard collecting award

There will be up to eight awards across four categories detailed below. The awards are not linked to Colleges and numbers of awards for each category may vary depending on the nominations received. 

The winner of each award will receive £1,000 (or an equal share, if the award is made to a team). There will be a celebratory awards event held on December 13th 2016, to which all the winners will be invited.

The themes recognise the range of education-related activity, and are:  

 Educational innovation

This award recognises those individuals or teams who have demonstrated innovation in curriculum design, assessment and feedback methods or use of learning technologies and development of digital literacies.

 Educational leadership

This award recognises those individuals or teams who demonstrate a commitment to embedding the enhancement of educational practice and innovation within their own discipline and beyond (e.g. in a School/Department, College or at University level). 

Supporting student learning

Excellence in this category can be demonstrated in a variety of ways including supporting a diverse range of learning needs, embedding inclusive practice and taking a student centred approach. 

Research informed teaching

The winner(s) of this award will be individuals or teams who demonstrate considered integration of research into teaching practice that is innovative, imaginative and impactful. this could involve integration of disciplinary research into educational progammes or educational research that informs practice. 

To find out more, please read the guidelines and to apply, please fill in the nomination form and send to Ann Evans at teachingacademy@contacts.bham.ac.uk by the 21st October 2016. (This date was previously the 14th) 





Teaching Awards Guidelines 2016-17 (PDF-298KB)

Teaching Academy Award for Educational Enhancement and Innovation - nomination form (Word - 419KB)



Find out more about the 2016 winners TA Award Winners 2016