Welfare Tutors/ Wellbeing Officers

Each School has their own Welfare Tutor(s) or Wellbeing Officer(s) able to provide practical and emotional support for you if you are experiencing personal problems that interfere with your academic work.

They can recommend sources of professional help and, if appropriate, will guide you through the extenuating circumstances process. However, it is up to you to ask for their assistance in a timely manner.

Welfare Tutors and Wellbeing Officers are effectively the same position, however some schools use Welfare Tutors and some use Wellbeing Officers. They are both equally able to provide support and assist you with regards to student welfare/wellbeing. There is also a Reasonable Adjustment contact within each School, who will be a Welfare Tutor/Wellbeing Officer.

You can also approach Student Support in the Aston Webb Student Hub. If you need support with your academic work, you should see your Personal Academic Tutor within your Department. 

Find your Welfare Tutor(s) or Wellbeing Officer(s)

Choose your School to find contact details for your Welfare Tutor(s) or Wellbeing Officer(s) below. 

You can contact any of the Welfare Tutors or Wellbeing Officers in your school and they will be able to assist you, some have more than one and some have specified areas (e.g. undergraduate, specific courses). You can select whichever is most suited to you. 

 Biosciences

College Wellbeing Officer

  • Grace Page

Tel: 0121 414 7416

Email: bio-geeswelfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Grace Page Headshot

For more information, see the College Welfare Canvas page.

 Birmingham Business School

  • Paula Douglas

Tel: 0121 414 7791

  • Lisa Doughty

Tel: 0121 414 3593

  • Vickie Glynn
  • Georgina Bromley

Tel: 0121 414 3217

  • Miriam Nicholson

Tel: 0121 414 6761

Email: bbs.welfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Drop-in times: Room G30 University House

Monday – 14.00 – 16.00
Tuesday -  10.00 – 12.00
Wednesday -  14.00 – 16.00
Thursday -  14.00 – 16.00
Friday  - 10.00 – 12.00

Undergraduates

  • Paolo Di Martino (year 2)

Tel: 0121 414 2548

Email: p.dimartino@bham.ac.uk

  • Caroline Chapain (year 3)

Tel: 0121 414 2292

Email: c.a.chapain@bham.ac.uk

Accounting and Finance (Years 1 - 3) UG 

  • Nishat Azmat 

Tel: 0121 414 7792

Email: azmatn@adf.bham.ac.uk

Doctoral researchers

  • Linda Hsieh

Tel: 0121 414 6697

Email: h.hsieh@bham.ac.uk

 Birmingham International Academy

  • Ricky Joseph

Tel: 0121 415 1104

Priorsfield, Room 209

Office drop-in hours                                                    Appointment Only

Mondays 2pm – 4:30pm                                             Wednesday 2pm – 4:30pm

Tuesdays 2pm – 4.30pm                                             Fridays 9:30am – 12:30pm

Thursday 9:30am – 12:30pm

Email: r.joseph@bham.ac.uk

Ricky Joseph

 Birmingham Law School

  • Libby Proctor

Tel: 0121 414 6273

Libby Proctor

  • Kate Hands Harvey

Tel: 0121 414 5503

Email: law.welfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Office drop in hours (Go to Law Reception):

Mondays 12.00 - 1.00pm and 4.00 - 5.00pm
Tuesdays 1.30 - 3.30pm
Wednesdays 9.00 - 11.00am
Thursdays 10.00 - 11.00am and 3.00 - 4.00pm
Fridays 9.30 - 10.30am and 2.00 - 3.00pm

 Chemical Engineering

  • Alex Johl

Email: chemengwellbeing@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Drop in hours: Monday – Thursday, 11.00 - 12.00

 Chemistry

  • Mia Wright

Email: chemwelfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Mia Wright Headshot

Drop in hours: Monday – Thursday, 10-11am

 Computer Science

  • Mia Wright

Email: cswelfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Mia Wright Headshot

Drop in hours: Monday – Thursday, 12.00 - 13.00

 Dentistry

  • Welfare Tutor: Kirsty Hill                              

Email: K.B.Hill@bham.ac.uk

  • Welfare Tutor: John Morris

Email: A.J.Morris@bham.ac.uk

  • Wellbeing Officer: Pam Grant 

Email: mdsstudentservicesdesk@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Pamela Grant pic

 Education

  • Tonie Stolberg

Tel: 0121 415 8395

Email: t.l.stolberg@bham.ac.uk

  • Adrian Leech

Tel: 0121 415 8238

Email: a.leech@bham.ac.uk


D
rop-in times: Room 211, School of Education, R19

Tuesday – 11.00 – 13.00
Thursday – 16.00 – 18.00 (term time) or 15.00-17.00 (outside of term time)

 English, Drama and American and Canadian Studies

  • Iain Cormack

Tel: 0121 414 7013

Location: Arts G22

Email: edacswelfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Iain Cormack

  • Sonia Suman

Tel: 0121 414 9200

Location: Arts G22

Email: edacswelfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Sonia Suman

 Engineering

  • Jack Carter

Tel: 0121 414 4267

Email: engineeringwelfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Jack Carter Headshot

Term time drop-in times: Monday – Thursday 10:00-11:45 in room S3a in the Mechanical and Civil Engineering Building (Y3). Any changes will be posted on the Engineering Welfare Canvas Page.

 Geography, Earth and Environmental Sciences

College Wellbeing Officer

Grace Page

Tel: 0121 414 7416

Email: bio-geeswelfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Grace Page Headshot

For more information, see the College Welfare Canvas page.

Academic Welfare Tutor – Geography, Planning and Environmental Science

Mel Bickerton

Tel: 0121 414 7509

Email: M.A.BICKERTON@bham.ac.uk

Academic Welfare Tutor – Earth Sciences

Paul Anderson

Tel: 0121 414 6154

Email: P.E.Anderson@bham.ac.uk

CURS Postgraduate taught students

Dr. Mike Beazley

Tel: 0121 414 3278

Email: m.j.beazley@bham.ac.uk

DEHRM Postgraduate taught students

Zena Lynch

Tel: 0121 414 5556

Email: z.lynch@bham.ac.uk

 Government and Society

  • Warren Evans

Tel: 0121 414 8060

Email: gandswelfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

  • Jen Hayes

Tel: 0121 414 8452

Email: gandswelfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Drop-in times: Muirhead 633 or 634

Monday - 10.00-12.00 and 14.00-16.00
Tuesday - 14.00-16.00
Wednesday - 10.00-12.00             
Thursday - 14.00-16.00
Friday - 10.00-12.00        

 History and Cultures

  • Adrian Powney

Tel: 0121 414 5436

Email: shacwelfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Adrian Powney

  • Penny Hewlett

Tel: 0121 414 6867

Email: shacwelfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

 Penny Hewlett

 Languages, Cultures, Art History and Music

  • Dee Partridge

Tel: 0121 415 8372

Email: d.partridge@bham.ac.uk

Dee Partridge

Liberal Arts and Sciences

  • Ruth Johnson

Tel: 0121 415 8236

Email: r.johnson@bham.ac.uk

Ruth Johnson

 Mathematics

  • Joanne Morris

Email: mathswelfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Joanne Morris Headshot

 Medical School

MDSstudentservicesdesk@contacts.bham.ac.uk

The MDS Student Services Centre is open for drop-ins 9.00am to 5.00pm Monday to Friday

Student Services Centre (MDS)

  • Rebecca Varney (Manager)

Tel: 0121 414 7830

Email: r.c.varney@bham.ac.uk

MBChB

  • Welfare Tutor: Miranda Pallan (Senior Welfare Tutor + GEC 1)                   

Tel: 0121 414 7990

Email: m.j.pallan@bham.ac.uk

  • Welfare Tutor: Shilpa Purandare (Year 1)                             

Tel: 0121 414 7104

Email: s.purandare@bham.ac.uk

  • Welfare Tutor: Carole Cummins (Year 2)                               

Tel: 0121 414 8625

Email: c.l.cummins.20@bham.ac.uk

  • Welfare Tutor: Derek Ward (Year 3)                       

Email: d.j.ward@bham.ac.uk

  • Welfare Tutor: Martyn Chidgey (Year 4)                               

Tel: 0121 414 6068

Email: m.a.chidgey@bham.ac.uk

  • Welfare Tutor: Helen McMillan (Year 5)                

Email: H.A.McMillan@bham.ac.uk

  • Wellbeing Officer Year 1, 2 and GEC: Ross Strong

Email: mdsstudentservicesdesk@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Ross Strong pic

  • Wellbeing Officer Year 3-5: Hannah Lunney

Email: mdsstudentservicesdesk@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Hannah Lunney pic

BMedSc Medical Science

  • Welfare Tutor : Linda Lefievre                   

 Email: L.Lefievre@bham.ac.uk

  • Wellbeing Officer: Emma Wynne-Hughes

Email: mdsstudentservicesdesk@contacts.bham.ac.uk 

Emma Wynne-Hughes pic

Postgraduate Taught         

  • Wellbeing Officer: Emma Wynne-Hughes

Email: mdsstudentservicesdesk@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Postgraduate Research                

  • Wellbeing Officer: Emma Wynne-Hughes

Email: mdsstudentservicesdesk@contacts.bham.ac.uk 

 Metallurgy and Materials

Student Wellbeing Officer

  • Alex Johl

Email: metmatwellbeing@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Drop in hours: Monday – Thursday, 09.30 - 10.30

 

 Nursing

  • Welfare Tutor: Tracey Valler-Jones

Email: T.B.Valler-Jones@bham.ac.uk

  • Wellbeing Officer: Pam Grant                   

Email: mdsstudentservicesdesk@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Pamela Grant pic

 Pharmacy

  • Wellbeing Officer Year 1 and 3: Emma Wynne-Hughes

Email: mdsstudentservicesdesk@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Emma Wynne-Hughes pic

  • Wellbeing Officer Year 2 and 4: Ross Strong

Email: mdsstudentservicesdesk@contacts.bham.ac.uk 

Ross Strong pic

 Philosophy, Theology and Religion

  • Anna Read

Tel: 0121 414 3377

Email: ptrwelfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Anna Read

 Physics and Astronomy

  • Joanne Morris

Email: physicswelfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Joanne Morris Headshot

 Psychology

  • Dr Yolanda Martinez

Tel: 0121 414 3822

Email: psych-sportxwelfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Headshot YM

Postgraduate students

  • Paul Pope

Tel: 0121 414 3338

Email: p.pope@bham.ac.uk

For more information, see the College Welfare Canvas page.

 Social Policy

  • Mel Hardy

Tel: 0121 414 5729

Email: M.Hardy@bham.ac.uk

Drop-in times: Muirhead Tower Room 842

Monday – 10.00 – 12.00
Tuesday – 14.00 – 16.00
Wednesday - 10.00 – 12.00
Thursday -  14.00 – 16.00  

IASS

  • Maureen Smojkis 

Tel: 0121 414 8169

Email: m.n.smojkis@bham.ac.uk

 Sport, Exercise and Rehabilitation Sciences

  • Dr Yolanda Martinez

Tel: 0121 414 3822

Email: leswelfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Headshot YM

Sportex

  • Dr Melrose Stewart

Tel: 0121 415 8605

Email: m.stewart@bham.ac.uk

For more information, see the College Welfare Canvas page.