College of Arts and Law: College Board Members

College Board is responsible for the academic leadership of the College.

Professor Corey Ross

Interim Pro-Vice-Chancellor and Head of the College of Arts and Law, Chair

Corey Ross is interim Head of College, Arts and Law, at the University of Birmingham. As Head of College, he is responsible for five schools: Birmingham Law School; English, Drama and Creative Studies; Languages, Cultures, Art History and Music; Philosophy, Theology and Religion; and History and Cultures. As Pro-Vice Chancellor, he is a member of the University’s Executive Board and chairs various university-wide committees. He plays a central role in the development of collaborations and partnerships with the cultural and creative industries sector.

Email: c.d.ross@bham.ac.uk
Web: birmingham.ac.uk/coreyross

Professor Corey Ross

Rachel Allmark

Director of Operations

Rachel has overall responsibility for the leadership of all Professional Services supporting the College. She is responsible for the development of College Services in supporting the College’s strategic objectives in teaching, research and knowledge transfer and working in partnership with the College Academic leadership.

Email: r.k.allmark@bham.ac.uk

Rachel Allmark

Professor Helen Abbott

Head of Language, Culture, Art History and Music

Helen Abbott is Head of School of Languages, Cultures, Art History and Music, with particular specialism in creative and multilingual partnerships with and for students and academic staff.

Email: h.abbott@bham.ac.uk
Web: birmingham.ac.uk/helenabbott

Professor Helen Abbott

Professor Charlotte Hempel

Head of Philosophy, Theology and Religion

I am Head of the School of Philosophy, Theology and Religion,  a thriving academic community  that is home to two Departments: the Department of Philosophy and the Department of Theology and Religion. I have overall responsibility for the  leadership and management of the School. I am also a member of College Board in the College of Arts and Law as well as the University’s Senior Leadership Forum.

Email: c.hempel@bham.ac.uk
Web: birmingham.ac.uk/charlottehempel

Professor Charlotte Hempel

Professor Tom Lockwood

Head of English, Drama and Creative Studies

Tom Lockwood is Head of the School of English, Drama and Creative Studies where he works with colleagues to advance the School’s academic endeavours. He is a member of College Board, and serves on a number of University-wide oversight boards

Email: t.e.lockwood@bham.ac.uk
Web: birmingham.ac.uk/tomlockwood

Professor Tom Lockwood

Professor Gavin Schaffer

Head of School, SHAC

Information to follow.

Email: g.schaffer@bham.ac.uk
Web: birmingham.ac.uk/gavinschaffer

Professor Gavin Schaffer

Professor Lisa Webley

Head of Law

Information to follow.

Email: l.c.webley@bham.ac.uk
Web: birmingham.ac.uk/lisawebley

Professor Lisa Webley

Professor Hugh Adlington

Director of Research and Knowledge Transfer

Hugh Adlington is the College's Director of Research and Knowledge Transfer. He is responsible for the development and delivery of the College's research, impact and engagement strategy, and chairs the College Research and Knowledge Development Committee

Email: h.c.adlington@bham.ac.uk
Web: birmingham.ac.uk/hughadlington

Professor Hugh Adlington

Professor Aleksandra Cavoski

Director of Global Engagement (DoGE)

Aleksandra is CAL College Director of Global Engagement and provides leadership in extending CAL’s global reach and reputation. She is also CAL Sustainability Lead and she is leading a team of academics developing a CAL sustainability module. 

Email: a.cavoski@bham.ac.uk
Web: birmingham.ac.uk/alekscavoski

Professor Aleks Cavoski

Professor Elaine Fulton

Director of Education

Professor Elaine Fulton is Director of Education for the College of Arts and Law, leading College-wide initiatives to enhance teaching and learning, and placing students at the heart of what we do.

Email: e.k.fulton@bham.ac.uk
Web: birmingham.ac.uk/elainefulton

Professor Elaine Fulton

Professor Peter Morey

CAL Equality, Diversity and Inclusion

Peter Morey is the CAL Equality, Diversity, and Inclusion Lead. He is responsible for coordinating EDI initiatives across the College. He sits on College Board and is a member of the UoB Equality Executive Group.

Email: p.morey@bham.ac.uk
Web: birmingham.ac.uk/petermorey

Professor Peter Morey


Dr Gillian Wright

Director of College Graduate School

Gillian Wright is the Director of the College of Arts and Law Graduate School. She leads on academic support for postgraduate researchers in the College and chairs its Graduate School Board. 

Email: g.wright@bham.ac.uk
Web: birmingham.ac.uk/GillianWright

Dr Gillian Wright

Secretary of the Committee: Joanne Keogh (j.keogh@bham.ac.uk)

Minutes of the CAL College Board

Colleges

Professional Services