Student Recruitment and Marketing

Responsible for the recruitment of students located within the UK and overseas, the office comprises four distinct teams: 

  • Undergraduate Recruitment and Marketing
  • Postgraduate and Doctoral Researcher Recruitment and Marketing
  • Outreach
  • International Recruitment

The Undergraduate team is responsible for attracting and converting undergraduate students at all points throughout the recruitment cycle.  This includes the University's Undergraduate Open Days in June, September and October of each year.
The Postgraduate team recruits applicants onto Postgraduate Taught programmes and supports students wishing to apply for a PhD.
The Outreach team also operate the University’s acclaimed Access to Birmingham (A2B) scheme which works with applicants who have faced some form of challenge in their life or academic study, supporting them through the process of applying to the University.
The International team recruits students on to foundation, undergraduate and postgraduate programmes and travels extensively throughout the year to key recruiting territories.

General Enquiries

Student Recruitment
Email - studentrecruitment@contacts.bham.ac.uk
Telephone - +44 (0)121 414 2242

Outreach
Email: outreach@contacts.bham.ac.uk
Telephone - +44 (0)121 414 6722

Key people

Director of Student Recruitment and Marketing
Carla Amos
Email - c.j.amos@bham.ac.uk
Telephone - +44 (0)121 414 7729

PA to the Director
Sarah Collins
Email - s.l.collins@bham.ac.uk
Telephone - +44 (0) 121 414 8168

Head of Postgraduate Recruitment
Stephen Allmark
Email - s.j.allmark@bham.ac.uk
Telephone - +44 (0) 121 414 5430

Head of Outreach (Policy)
Gail Rothnie (working days Monday-Wednesday)
Email - g.h.rothnie@bham.ac.uk
Telephone - +44 (0) 121 415 8545

Head of Outreach (Operations)
Elizabeth Chandler (working days Wednesday-Friday)
Email - e.chandler@bham.ac.uk
Telephone - +44 (0) 121 414 8599

Head of Undergraduate Recruitment and Marketing
Adam Gore (from 12 February 2018)
Email - a.gore@bham.ac.uk
Telephone - 

Head of International Recruitment
Elijah James
Email - e.james@bham.ac.uk
Telephone - +44 (0)121 414 9196

Students outside