Research Planning

The Research Planning team works with staff across the University to promote and develop the strategic approach to research. Crucial aspects of this are leading the preparation of the University’s submission to the national Research Excellence Framework and implementing the University's research impact strategy. The team also supports the work of the Pro-Vice-Chancellor for R&KT and the University’s Research Committee and is involved in the strategic oversight of Pure.

Contacts

Deputy Director, Research Planning

Elizabeth Westlake

Tel: 0121 414 7367

Email: e.westlake@bham.ac.uk

Deputy Head of Research Planning and Research Information Manager

Karen Kay 

Tel: +44 (0)121 414 9134

Email: k.m.kay@bham.ac.uk

Pure support: pure@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Research Planning Partners

Joanne Croudace (MDS, LES)- Maternity leave

Tel: 0121 414 8191

Email: J.E.Croudace@bham.ac.uk

Katharina Freise (CoSS)

Tel: 0121 414 9133

Email: K.Freise@bham.ac.uk

Dr Karen Houghton (CAL)

Tel: 0121 414 7905

Email: K.E.Houghton@bham.ac.uk

Gavin McNee (EPS)

Tel: 0121 414 3633

Email: G.McNee@bham.ac.uk

Research Planning Officers

Rebecca Hings (LES)

Tel: 0121 414 8191

Email: R.F.Hings@bham.ac.uk

Research Planning Project Officer

Elizabeth Goodyear

Tel: 0121 414 6624

Email: e.goodyear@bham.ac.uk

Research Engagement Officer (Public Engagement with Research Partnerships)

Caroline Gillett

Tel: 0121 414 7947

Email:c.d.t.gillett@bham.ac.uk

Public Engagement with Research Officer

Leah Fitzsimmons

Tel: 0121 414 8481

Email: L.Fitzsimmons@bham.ac.uk

PER Administrator and PA to DPVC - Research Impact

Elle Charles

Tel: 0121 414 7473

Email: e.f.d.charles@bham.ac.uk

Research Information Systems Administrator

Sam King

Tel: 0121 414 2256

Email: s.p.king@bham.ac.uk