IT Services

The College of Social Sciences IT Support Team support PC’s, peripherals and Windows servers for all staff in the College; and also student and teaching IT facilities hosted within College buildings.

The College IT Team is responsible for drafting and agreeing strategic IT objectives and financial planning at both School and College levels. This includes seeing major projects through from the initial planning stage, through testing and commissioning, and then managing ongoing support and policies such as disaster recovery plans.

The emphasis on all services delivered is that of high quality customer IT support, through the use of resilient and robust systems whenever possible.

Teams & Support

The College IT Team consists of 3 teams based in Education, Muirhead Tower & University House. Each team is lead by a School IT Manager with support and contact details listed below.

To raise an IT support call for a fault or to make a service request, please use the IT Service Desk system here: http://itservicedesk.bham.ac.uk

Adrian Hassell
College IT Manager
Muirhead, 224
Tel: 0121 414 4852 (ext. 44852) 
Email: a.m.hassell@bham.ac.uk

Education Building

IT Helpline: Tel: 0121 414 6860 (ext. 46860); Web: http://www.itservicedesk.bham.ac.uk.

Bill Firth
IT Manager (Education)
Education, M19
Tel: 0121 414 7875 (ext. 47875) 
Email: w.firth@bham.ac.uk 

Matthew Ravenhill
Desktop Server Support Specialist
Education, M16
Tel: 0121 414 4884 (ext. 44884) 
Email: m.a.ravenhill@bham.ac.uk 

Peter Stone
Desktop Support Specialist
Education, M16
Tel: 0121 414 4872 (ext. 44872) 
Email: p.stone.1@bham.ac.uk 

Muirhead Tower and Park House

IT Helpline: Tel: 0121 414 7070 (ext. 47070); Web: http://www.itservicedesk.bham.ac.uk.

David Cottam
IT Manager (Government and Society & Social Policy)
Muirhead, 1221
Tel: 0121 414 7498 (ext. 47498) 
Email: d.s.cottam@bham.ac.uk

Mark Croft
Desktop Support Specialist
Muirhead, 1221
Tel: 0121 414 6363 (ext. 46363)
Email: m.r.croft@bham.ac.uk 

Peter Aston
Desktop Server Support Specialist
Muirhead, 1221
Tel: 0121 415 8377 (ext. 58377) 
Email: p.a.aston@bham.ac.uk

David Prentice
Desktop Support Specialist
Muirhead, 1221
Tel: 0121 415 8101 (ext. 58101) 
Email: d.a.prentice@bham.ac.uk

Dean Knowles
Desktop Support Technician
Muirhead, 1221
Tel: 0121 414 2605 (ext. 42605) 
Email: d.knowles@bham.ac.uk

University House & JG Smith

IT Helpline: Tel: 0121 414 7125 (ext. 47125); Web: http://www.itservicedesk.bham.ac.uk.

Nisar Yasin
IT Manager (Business)
University House, 230
Tel: 0121 414 7680 (ext. 47680) 
Email: m.n.yasin@bham.ac.uk 

David Cox
Desktop Support Specialist
University House, 203
Tel: 0121 414 8333 (ext. 48333) 
Email: d.j.cox.1@bham.ac.uk

Hayat Ali
Desktop Server Support Specialist
University House, 203
Tel: 0121 414 7125 (ext. 47125) 
Email: h.ali@bham.ac.uk

Tarlochan Baley
Desktop Support Specialist
University House, 203
Tel: 0121 414 3555 (ext. 43555)
Email: t.baley@bham.ac.uk

Maqsood Rana
Desktop Support Specialist
University House, 203
Tel: 0121 414 8334 (ext. 48334)
Email: m.rana@bham.ac.uk

 

 

 

Tell us what you think...

...we want to hear from you

Tell us about your experience of using our new intranet pages. Did you find what you were looking for? Have you learnt something new today? Or do you wish we could improve your intranet experience?

Developing these intranet pages will be ongoing and, if you share your view and ideas, it will help us to continue to improve this important resource for the benefit of the entire University community.

We also welcome your comments on university internal communications in general. Email the team or pick up the phone 0121 414 6680. You can also tweet us. Whichever way you decide to get in touch we look forward to hearing what you have to say.

If you have a technical question you can contact our IT colleagues as they are much better at that stuff than we are!