Key dates for students

2020

In 2020-21 the University will be introducing a new academic teaching year framework. The new structure will have two semesters; each will include 11 weeks of learning and teaching, a period of assessment support, and an end of semester assessment period. 

Monday 21 to Friday 25 September WELCOME WEEK 2020
Monday 28 September SEMESTER ONE STARTS
Monday 21 December  Christmas vacation starts

2021

Please note that if necessary, the end of semester assessment periods may include Saturday examinations so, for example, there may be examinations held on Saturday 9 January 2021, Saturday 16 January 2021 and Saturday 23 January 2021.

Friday 1 January  University closed day
Friday 8 January Christmas vacation ends
Friday 22 January SEMESTER ONE ENDS
Monday 25 to Friday 29 January  UoBe Festival
Monday 1 February  SEMESTER TWO STARTS
Monday 29 March to Friday 16 April Easter vacation
Friday 25 June SEMESTER TWO ENDS


Future term dates to 2023

Other student events

Other University of Birmingham events 

Colleges

Professional Services