Performance and Insight

The Performance and Insight Team cover a number of areas involving data, and analysis of students, and income. Our analysis involves internal and external data, and provides policy advice on how the University will be viewed through these different lenses. We also model and predict the future of University funding from tuition fees, and from our grants from HEFCE. The team leads on Business Intelligence, and the University’s implementation of Tableau, the data visualization tool.

The Performance and Insight Team's specific tasks include:

  • Student number target setting, population forecasting
  • Forecasting tuition fee income
  • HEFCE Teaching and Research grant
  • Leading on the Destination of Leavers from Higher Education survey
  • League Table monitoring, analysis, interpretation, and input
  • Oversight of returns to HESA to ensure staff, student and finance data is aligned, as well as providing advice on the MIU and HESA cost centres
  • Developing and maintaining the institutional KPIs, and school performance dashboards
  • Prioritisation of BI development activities, defining requirements and providing key management information
  • Being expert users of Tableau, promoting the effective usage of Tableau across the University
  • Provision of systems administration, structure and online training for Tableau Server; best practice guidance and data source management for Tableau Desktop

Contacts 

Dr Dave Radcliffe - Head of Policy, Funding & Regulation

Email: d.s.radcliffe@bham.ac.uk

Dr Katy Holmes - Head of Performance and Insight Team

Email: k.m.holmes@bham.ac.uk

Mark Clayton - Planning Officer

Tel: +44 (0)121 414 3752

Email: m.clayton.1@bham.ac.uk

Tony Potter - Planning Officer

Tel: +44 (0)121 414 3757

Email: a.m.potter@bham.ac.uk

Jon Fox - Business Analyst (Business Intelligence)

Tel: +44 (0)121 414 9135

Email: j.c.fox@bham.ac.uk

Charlotte Atkin - Data Analyst 

Email: c.e.atkin.2@bham.ac.uk

 

Team Contact - performance-insight@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Colleges

Professional Services