Marketing and Communications

The Marketing and Communications team is made up of experts in student recruitment, research communications, digital communications and public affairs. The team can offer professional support, advice and guidance to you in a variety of ways across the broad spectrum of: 

  • Student recruitment
  • Research communications
  • Public Affairs
  • Digital and web activity
  • Internal communications
  • Reputation, profile and brand management

As members of External Relations, we are part of a broad internal and external network of experts and can put you in touch with the relevant people where appropriate.

 Our core objectives as a team are to:

  • Work with senior stakeholders to influence recruitment targets and support the College in shaping its portfolio to optimise recruitment
  • Position the undergraduate and postgraduate offerings of all four Schools as a destination of choice for prospective undergraduate students from all backgrounds, attracting and converting a high-quality and diverse student body at scale to ensure targets are met.
  • Enhance the College research profile, demonstrating the reach, impact and outputs of the research activity of all four Schools to all stakeholders internally and externally, in the process developing brand awareness in relation to our key research strengths
  • Work closely with the academic community to empower them in raising their profile and that of their work throughout the research life cycle (pre, during and post-bid)
  • Increase overall market share of undergraduate overseas students, focusing on key current and emerging markets, ensuring growing targets are met
  • Recruit a diverse international postgraduate student body across the College through a targeted and segmented marketing approach, reducing reliance on any one particular market (informed by solid market analysis) and ensuring targets are met
  • Embed effective internal communications activity throughout the College to ensure academic and Professional Services staff are well-equipped to deliver the College’s and University’s strategy

Contact the team 

Samantha Schofield
Head of Marketing and Communications 
Email: s.k.schofield@bham.ac.uk

 Student Recruitment

Kirsty Matthews
Deputy Head of Marketing and Communications
Student Recruitment Marketing Manager
Working Hours: Tuesday-Friday
Email: 
K.L.Matthews@bham.ac.uk

Alicia Hogan
International Recruitment and Partnerships Officer (non-BBS) 
Email: a.hogan@bham.ac.uk

Angela Slater 
Digital Projects Manager
Email: a.c.slater@bham.ac.uk

Christina Baghdady
Student Recruitment Marketing Officer
Tel: 0121 414 3347 (ext. 43347)
Email: c.baghdady@bham.ac.uk

Emma Curtis
Student Recruitment Marketing Officer
Email: e.curtis@bham.ac.uk

Vacant
Marketing Assistant

 Student Recruitment and Partnerships (Birmingham Business School)

Find out more about the Student Recruitment and Partnerships team for the Birmingham Business School.

Andy Hammond
Partnership & Student Recruitment Manager
Emaila.m.hammond@bham.ac.uk

Shavinder Manku
Undergraduate Recruitment and Admissions Officer
Email
s.k.manku@bham.ac.uk

Richard Hewitt
Student Recruitment Marketing Officer (MSc Focus) 
Emailr.hewitt@bham.ac.uk  

Victoria Malin
Student Recruitment and Admissions Officer (MBA focus)
Working Hours: Monday-Thursday
Email:  v.l.malin@bham.ac.uk

Klaudia Boguta
Business School Administrator 
Email
k.boguta@bham.ac.uk

Dr Laura Hilton 
External Partnerships Officer
EmailL.Hilton@bham.ac.uk 
Working days: Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday 

 Communications and Public Affairs

Elizabeth Kirsch 
Public Affairs Manager
Deputy Head of Marketing and Communications 
EmailE.H.Kirsch@bham.ac.uk
Working Hours: Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday (am only)

Hannah Bradley 
Public Affairs Manager 
EmailH.Bradley.3@bham.ac.uk
Working Hours: Monday, (9am-3pm), Tuesday (9am-5pm), and Thursday (9am-3pm)

Ceara Chamberlain
Communications Manager
Emailc.j.wason@bham.ac.uk

Freyja Barnard 
Marketing and Communications Officer
Emailf.barnard@bham.ac.uk

Chelsea Wood
Marketing and Communications Officer 
Emailc.m.wood@bham.ac.uk

 Digital

You can send your website requests to the CoSS Digital Team inbox.

Madeleine McGarrie
Digital Marketing and Communications Manager
Emailm.mcgarrie@bham.ac.uk

Hajur Gill
Digital Marketing and Communications Apprentice
Email:  h.gill.2@bham.ac.uk 

Julie Foster
Digital Marketing and Communications Officer
Emailfosterj@bham.ac.uk

Vanessa Chesterton
Digital Marketing and Communications Assistant
Emailv.j.chesterton@bham.ac.uk

Colleges

Professional Services