Marketing, Communications and Digital

The Marketing and Communications team can offer professional support, advice and guidance to you in a variety of ways across the broad spectrum of:

  • Research communications
  • Student recruitment
  • Digital and web activity
  • Internal communications
  • Reputation, profile and brand management

As members of the University External Relations team, we can provide advice and guidance across a number of different areas related to these disciplines and can put you in touch with the relevant people where appropriate.

 Our core objectives as a team are to:

  • Enhance the College research profile, demonstrating the reach, impact and outputs of the research activity of all four Schools to all stakeholders internally and externally, in the process developing brand awareness in relation to our key research strengths
  • Work closely with the academic community to empower them in raising their profile and that of their work throughout the research life cycle (pre, during and post-bid)
  • Position the undergraduate and postgraduate offerings of all four Schools as a destination of choice for prospective undergraduate students from all backgrounds, attracting and converting a high-quality and diverse student body at scale to ensure targets are met. Work with senior stakeholders to influence recruitment targets and support the College in shaping its portfolio to optimise recruitment.
  • Increase overall market share of undergraduate overseas students, focusing on key current and emerging markets, ensuring growing targets are met
  • Recruit a diverse international postgraduate student body across the College through a targeted and segmented marketing approach, reducing reliance on any one particular market (informed by solid market analysis) and ensuring targets are met
  • Embed effective internal communications activity throughout the College to ensure academic and Professional Services staff are well-equipped to deliver the College’s and University’s strategy

Contact the team 

Adam Gore
Marketing and Communications Manager
Tel: 0121 414 8885 (ext. 48885)
Email: a.gore@bham.ac.uk

 Marketing

College of Social Sciences

Lucy Guest
Marketing and Events Administrator 
Tel: 0121 414 3165
Email: l.r.guest@bham.ac.uk

Business school

Hannah Down
Marketing Officer (Birmingham Business School)
Tel: 0121 414 4726 (ex. 44726)
Email: h.down@bham.ac.uk

Kirsty Smith
Marketing Officer (Birmingham Business School)
Tel: 0121 414 3165 (ext. 43165)
Emailk.smith.1@bham.ac.uk 

School of Education

Elizabeth Kirsch
Marketing Officer (School of Education) 
Tel: 0121 414 6482 (ext. 46482) 
Email: e.h.kirsch@bham.ac.uk

School of Government and Society

Paul Scott
Marketing Officer (School of Government and Society)
Tel: 0121 415 1051 (ext. 51051)
Email: p.l.scott@bham.ac.uk

School of Social Policy

Kate Salter
Marketing Officer (School of Social Policy)
Tel: 0121 414 4914 (ext. 44914)
Email: k.salter@bham.ac.uk

 Communications

College of Social Sciences

Chloe Ainslie
Deputy Communications Manager
Tel: 0121 414 8301 (ext. 48301)
Email: c.l.ainslie@bham.ac.uk

 Digital

College of Social Sciences

Madeleine McGarrie
Digital Marketing and Communications Manager
Tel: 0121 415 8171 (ext. 58171)
Email: m.mcgarrie@bham.ac.uk

Business School

Paul Carpenter
Website Coordinator - Birmingham Business School
Tel: 0121 414 7428 (ext. 47428)
Email: p.l.carpenter@bham.ac.uk

School of Education

Julie Foster
Website Coordinator - School of Education
Tel: 0121 414 4402 (ext. 44402) 
Email: fosterj@bham.ac.uk

School of Government and Society

Nathan Johnson
Web Project Development Officer - School of Government and Society
Tel: 0121 414 8683 (ext. 48683)
Email: n.johnson@bham.ac.uk

School of Social Policy

Amy Commander
Digital and Website Officer - School of Social Policy
Tel: 0121 414 47174 (ext. 47174) 
Email: a.commander@bham.ac.uk