Marketing, Communications and Digital

The Marketing and Communications team can offer professional support, advice and guidance to you in a variety of ways across the broad spectrum of:

  • Research communications
  • Student recruitment
  • Digital and web activity
  • Internal communications
  • Reputation, profile and brand management

As members of the University External Relations team, we can provide advice and guidance across a number of different areas related to these disciplines and can put you in touch with the relevant people where appropriate.

 Our core objectives as a team are to:

  • Enhance the College research profile, demonstrating the reach, impact and outputs of the research activity of all four Schools to all stakeholders internally and externally, in the process developing brand awareness in relation to our key research strengths
  • Work closely with the academic community to empower them in raising their profile and that of their work throughout the research life cycle (pre, during and post-bid)
  • Position the undergraduate and postgraduate offerings of all four Schools as a destination of choice for prospective undergraduate students from all backgrounds, attracting and converting a high-quality and diverse student body at scale to ensure targets are met. Work with senior stakeholders to influence recruitment targets and support the College in shaping its portfolio to optimise recruitment.
  • Increase overall market share of undergraduate overseas students, focusing on key current and emerging markets, ensuring growing targets are met
  • Recruit a diverse international postgraduate student body across the College through a targeted and segmented marketing approach, reducing reliance on any one particular market (informed by solid market analysis) and ensuring targets are met
  • Embed effective internal communications activity throughout the College to ensure academic and Professional Services staff are well-equipped to deliver the College’s and University’s strategy

Contact the team 

Samantha Williams
Head of Marketing and Communications
Tel: 0121 414 8885 (ext. 48885)
Email: S.K.Williams@bham.ac.uk

 Student Recruitment

Kirsty Matthews
Student Recruitment Marketing Manager
Tel: 0121 414 3165 (ext. 43165)
EmailK.L.Matthews@bham.ac.uk

Kate Salter
Marketing Officer 
Tel: 0121 414 4914 (ext. 44914)
Email: k.salter@bham.ac.uk

Matthew McCormick
Marketing Assistant
Tel: 0121 415 1051 (ext. 51051)
Email: m.mccormick@bham.ac.uk

Christina Baghdady
Marketing Assistant
Tel: 0121 414 6286 (ext. 46286)
Email: c.baghdady@bham.ac.uk

 Communications


Chloe Ainslie
Deputy Communications Manager
Tel: 0121 414 8301 (ext. 48301)
Email: c.l.ainslie@bham.ac.uk

Hannah Down
Marketing and Communications Officer 
Tel: 0121 414 4726 (ex. 44726)
Email: h.down@bham.ac.uk

Ceara Wason
Communications and Events Assistant
Tel: 0121 415 1050 (ext. 51050)
Email: c.j.wason@bham.ac.uk

Chelsea Wood
Communications Assistant (Birmingham Business School)
Tel: 0121 415 8251 (ext. 58251)
Email: c.m.wood@bham.ac.uk

 Digital

You can send your website requests to the CoSS Digital Team inbox.

Madeleine McGarrie
Digital Marketing and Communications Manager
Tel: 0121 415 8171 (ext. 58171)
Email: m.mcgarrie@bham.ac.uk

Isaac Masih
Digital Marketing and Communications Officer
Tel: 0121 414 7174 (ext. 47174) 
Email: i.masih@bham.ac.uk

Paul Carpenter
Digital Marketing and Communications Officer
Tel: 0121 414 7428 (ext. 47428)
Email: p.l.carpenter@bham.ac.uk

Julie Foster
Digital Marketing and Communications Officer
Tel: 0121 414 4402 (ext. 44402) 
Email: fosterj@bham.ac.uk

 Public Affairs

Elizabeth Kirsch
Public Affairs Officer
Tel: 0121 414 6482 (ext. 46482) 
Email: e.h.kirsch@bham.ac.uk