Marketing and Communications

The Marketing and Communications team can offer professional support, advice and guidance to you in a variety of ways across the broad spectrum of:

  • Research communications
  • Student recruitment
  • Digital and web activity
  • Internal communications
  • Reputation, profile and brand management

As members of the University External Relations team, we can provide advice and guidance across a number of different areas related to these disciplines and can put you in touch with the relevant people where appropriate.

 Our core objectives as a team are to:

  • Enhance the College research profile, demonstrating the reach, impact and outputs of the research activity of all four Schools to all stakeholders internally and externally, in the process developing brand awareness in relation to our key research strengths
  • Work closely with the academic community to empower them in raising their profile and that of their work throughout the research life cycle (pre, during and post-bid)
  • Position the undergraduate and postgraduate offerings of all four Schools as a destination of choice for prospective undergraduate students from all backgrounds, attracting and converting a high-quality and diverse student body at scale to ensure targets are met. Work with senior stakeholders to influence recruitment targets and support the College in shaping its portfolio to optimise recruitment.
  • Increase overall market share of undergraduate overseas students, focusing on key current and emerging markets, ensuring growing targets are met
  • Recruit a diverse international postgraduate student body across the College through a targeted and segmented marketing approach, reducing reliance on any one particular market (informed by solid market analysis) and ensuring targets are met
  • Embed effective internal communications activity throughout the College to ensure academic and Professional Services staff are well-equipped to deliver the College’s and University’s strategy

Contact the team 

Samantha Schofield
Head of Marketing and Communications 
Email: s.k.schofield@bham.ac.uk

 Student Recruitment

Angela Slater 
Digital Projects Manager
Email: a.c.slater@bham.ac.uk

Kirsty Matthews
Student Recruitment Marketing Manager
Email: K.L.Matthews@bham.ac.uk

Christina Baghdady
Student Recruitment Marketing Officer
Tel: 0121 414 3347 (ext. 43347)
Email: c.baghdady@bham.ac.uk

Matthew McCormick
Marketing Assistant
Tel: 0121 415 1051 (ext. 51051)
Email: m.mccormick@bham.ac.uk

Emma Curtis
Student Recruitment Marketing Officer
Email: e.curtis@bham.ac.uk

 International Partnerships

Alicia Hogan 
International Partnerships Officer 
Email: a.hogan@bham.ac.uk

 Student Recruitment and Partnerships (Birmingham Business School)

Find out more about the Student Recruitment and Partnerships team for the Birmingham Business School.

Partnership & Student Recruitment Manager

Andy Hammond
Email: a.m.hammond@bham.ac.uk

Undergraduate Recruitment and Admissions Officer

Shavinder Manku
Email: s.k.manku@bham.ac.uk

MSc Recruitment and Admissions Officer

Vacant

MBA Recruitment and Admissions Officer 

Richard Hewitt
Email: r.hewitt@bham.ac.uk  

Business School Administrator 

Klaudia Boguta
Email: k.boguta@bham.ac.uk

External Partnerships Officer

Dr Laura Hilton 
Email: L.Hilton@bham.ac.uk 
Working days: Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday 

 Communications and Public Affairs

Ceara Wason
Communications Manager
Tel: 0121 415 1050 (ext. 51050)
Email: c.j.wason@bham.ac.uk

Freyja Barnard 
Marketing and Communications Officer
Email: f.barnard@bham.ac.uk

Chelsea Wood
Communications Assistant
Tel: 0121 415 9219 (ext. 59219)
Email: c.m.wood@bham.ac.uk

 

 Digital

You can send your website requests to the CoSS Digital Team inbox.

Madeleine McGarrie
Digital Marketing and Communications Manager
Email: m.mcgarrie@bham.ac.uk

Hajur Gill
Digital Marketing and Communications Apprentice
Email:  h.gill.2@bham.ac.uk 

Julie Foster
Digital Marketing and Communications Officer
Email: fosterj@bham.ac.uk

Vanessa Chesterton
Digital Marketing and Communications Assistant
Email: v.j.chesterton@bham.ac.uk

 Public Affairs

Information on Policy Impact and resources.

Hannah Bradley 
Public Affairs Manager 
Email: H.Bradley.3@bham.ac.uk
Working Hours: Monday, (9am-3pm), Tuesday (9am-5pm), and Thursday (9am-3pm)

Elizabeth Kirsch 
Public Affairs Manager
Email: E.H.Kirsch@bham.ac.uk
Working Hours:
 Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday (am only) 

Colleges

Professional Services