The Michael K. O'Rourke Best Publication Awards

The Michael K. O'Rourke Best Publication Award is a prestigious award that recognises outstanding achievement in the publication of a postgraduate researcher’s research.  

The 2023 prize is now open. The deadline for nominations is the 02 April 2023. Nominations must be made on the standard nomination form linked below. It is advisable to read the guidance notes which can be found here.

Nomination Form


What are the criteria for the award?

  • The PGR must be the major contributor (first or only author) to the publication.
  • The date of submission (online or in print) must be after 01 January 2021.
  • The date of submission (online or in print) must be before the PGRs final examination.

The College nomination should be guided by:

1.     The significance of the PGR’s contribution to the paper.

2.     Where similar levels of PGR contribution exist, the next criteria should be the extent of original research contribution of the paper. The extent of PGR contribution and the originality of the research should be made clear in the supervisor’s statement of support.


Published software and software routines will be considered for the award.

The Michael K. O'Rourke Best Publication Award 2022 Award winners

  •  College of Arts and Law - Andrew Patton - Greek Catenae and the "Western" Order of the Gospels
  • College of Social Sciences - Joseph Ward and Bradley Ward - From Brexit to COVID-19: The Johnson Government, Executive Centralisation and Authoritarian Populism

  • College of Engineering and Physical Sciences - Krishna M Gokhale - Data extraction for epidemiological research (DExtER): a novel tool for automated clinical epidemiology studies

  • College of Life and Environmental Sciences - Karn Vohra - Rapid rise in premature mortality due to anthropogenic air pollution in fast-growing tropical cities from 2005 to 2018 

  • College of Medical and Dental Sciences - Tiffany Gooden - The risk of mental illness in people living with HIV in the UK: a propensity score-matched cohort study

 What happens next?

The forms will be judged by College panels before being forwarded to the University Graduate School, where a University level judging panel will approve the winner from each College. The winners will be announced at the University Graduate School Awards Event in June.


 If you have any questions about the process, please email


Professional Services