Research Finance

The Research Finance team are responsible for the administration of externally funded research project accounts once an award has been received and accepted by the University, with a responsibility for managing the university’s £800m portfolio of research project accounts.

The team maintain up-to-date specialist knowledge of a wide range of funders’ financial terms and conditions and provide expert advice on the management of project finances in order to assist in maximising research income to the University. The team provide guidance to Principal Investigators and other stakeholders where required to ensure compliance with both funder rules and internal accounting policies.

The Research Finance team are responsible for a wide range of tasks required to manage project accounts on behalf of the university and individual academics, including raising funder invoices and completing funder claims in line with payment schedules/deadlines, advising on the availability of funds for research-funded staff recruitment, managing external funder audits, managing month-end accounting routines, transfers of costs between project accounts where required to meet funder rules and/or maximise expenditure, and completing final account reconciliations and closing project accounts in a timely manner.

Contacts by College

College of Arts and Law (non EU)

 
All Costing Requests to be made directly to the College
Worktribe https://birmingham-research.worktribe.com/
 
Post Award 
Team Leader Ravinder Mahoon r.mahoon@bham.ac.uk x46099
All Schools Caron Bragg C.Bragg@bham.ac.uk x47165 
General CAL inbox cal.post-award@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Please use the general CAL inbox.

College of Engineering and Physical Sciences (non EU)

 

Team Leaders 

Post Award

Ravinder Mahoon r.mahoon@bham.ac.uk x46099

Worktribe

https://birmingham-research.worktribe.com/

General EPS inbox

eps.post-award@contacts.bham.ac.uk

 Please use the general EPS Inbox

Manufacturing & Mechanical Engineering 

Post Award

Greg White G.N.White@bham.ac.uk x46421

 

Civil Engineering 

Post Award

Caron Bragg C.Bragg@bham.ac.uk x47165  

 

Electrical, Electronic & System Engineering 

Post Award

Caron Bragg C.Bragg@bham.ac.uk x47165

 

Metallurgy and Materials 

Post Award

Daniel Regan  D.K.D.Regan@bham.ac.uk x46102

 

Chemistry 

Post Award

Daniel Regan  D.K.D.Regan@bham.ac.uk x46102

 

Physics 

Post Award

Daniel Regan  D.K.D.Regan@bham.ac.uk x46102

 

Chemical Engineering 

Post Award

Nicole Few-Durnall n.few-durnall@bham.ac.uk x47165

 

Computer Science 

Post Award

Nicole Few-Durnall n.few-durnall@bham.ac.uk x47165

 

Mathematics 

Post Award

Nicole Few-Durnall n.few-durnall@bham.ac.uk x47165

General EPS Inbox

eps.post-award@contacts.bham.ac.uk

College of Life and Environmental Sciences (non EU)

 
Team Leaders 
Post Award Jo Hawkins j.hawkins@bham.ac.uk x 48767
All Costing Requests Requests to be made directly to the College
Worktribe https://birmingham-research.worktribe.com/
 
Biosciences 
Post Award  Tanaya Mayaka T.Makawa@bham.ac.uk x48860
 
GEES 
Post Award Jayne Hurley J.Hurley.1@bham.ac.uk x 58353
 
Psychology 
Post Award  Tanaya Mayaka T.Makawa@bham.ac.uk x48860
 
Sportex 
Post Award Bishen RaiB.Rai.2@bham.ac.uk x43021

College of Medical and Dental Sciences (non EU)

 Team Leaders
 Post Award Jo Hawkins j.hawkins@bham.ac.uk x 58209
Post Award (ICGS) Tracee Slater T.J.Slater@bham.ac.uk  x43021
All Costing Requests mdscosting@contacts.bham.ac.uk
 Worktribe   https://birmingham-research.worktribe.com/
Institute of Applied Health Research   Andrew Lee McQueen A.Lee-McQueen@bham.ac.uk  x 58209
BCTU Amun Bhella a.bhella@bham.ac.uk x46078
Institute of Immunology and Immunotherapy Shakeel Ahmed S.Ahmed.4@bham.ac.uk  X 45316
Institute of Inflammation and Ageing  Berrak Vincent b.vincent@bham.ac.uk x48482
Institute of Metabolism and Systems Research Andrew Lee McQueen A.Lee-McQueen@bham.ac.uk  x 58209
Institute of Clinical Sciences Amun Bhella a.bhella@bham.ac.uk x46097
Institute of Microbiology and Infection Shakeel Ahmed S.Ahmed.4@bham.ac.uk  X 45316
Institute of Cardiovascular Science Berrak Vincent b.vincent@bham.ac.uk x48482
Institute of Cancer Sciences and Genomic Sciences

Bishen Rai  B.Rai.2@bham.ac.uk x47714

CCTU and NMR

Rabab Anjum R.Anjum@bham.ac.uk x46103

College of Social Sciences (non EU)

 
 All Costing Requests to be made directly to the College 
 Worktribe  https://birmingham-research.worktribe.com/
 
Post Award 
Team Leader Ravinder Mahoon r.mahoon@bham.ac.uk x46099
All Schools Greg White G.N.White@bham.ac.uk x46421
General CoSS inbox coss.post-award@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Please use the general CoSS Inbox.

EU - All Colleges

 
Worktribe

https://birmingham-research.worktribe.com/

 
Medical and Dental Sciences 
Pre Award Tim Read  j.t.read@bham.ac.uk  x49543
Post Award Ryan Kumar  x58202
email: finofa-c-eufinance@bham.ac.uk
 
Engineering 
Pre Award Tim Read  j.t.read@bham.ac.uk  x49543
Post Award email: finofa-c-eufinance@bham.ac.uk
 
Physical Sciences 
Pre Award Tim Read j.t.read@bham.ac.uk x49543
Post Award

Awai Najeeb a.najeeb@bham.ac.uk x58201
email: finofa-c-eufinance@bham.ac.uk

 
Life and Environmental Sciences 
Pre Award Tim Read  j.t.read@bham.ac.uk  x49543
Post Award email: finofa-c-eufinance@bham.ac.uk
 
Social Sciences 
Pre Award Tim Read  j.t.read@bham.ac.uk  x49543
Post Award Amer Khan  a.khan.8@bham.ac.uk  x48487
 
Arts and Law 
Pre Award Tim Read  j.t.read@bham.ac.uk  x49543
Post Award Amer Khan  a.khan.8@bham.ac.uk  x48487

Impact of the USS Pension Increases on Research

From October 2019 the USS Pension increases will potentially impact on the cost of research staff posts on grants, where grants were awarded without the cost increase being included.  Full information about this, and how to manage the additional cost is available here.

Colleges

Professional Services