CoSS HEFI Digital team

Welcome to HEFI Digital at the College of Social Sciences.

Our role is to promote and provide support in the use of technology for teaching and learning. Our team offers a wide range of services to help you get the most out of Technology Enhanced Learning. We can help you get started with Canvas, or support you with enhancements such as introducing online formative assessments to your programme. We can also help design and implement fully online programmes and MOOCs.

Key contacts

Canvas 24/7 support

For Canvas related queries please contact 24/7 support: Did you know you can get help by contacting Canvas 24/7 Support directly? They can be contacted via the following routes:

  • Freephone (from within the UK) 0800 069 8899
  • Live chat with Canvas Support
  • File a support ticket using Report a problem from the Help menu
  • Students with programme related queries should contact the programme office in the first instance

Further information on using Canvas 24/7 support.

Students of the College of Social Sciences should consult our support site in the first instance.

General Enquiries

For all staff support enquiries please email the College team with as much detail as possible and your query will be forwarded to the appropriate team member.

Email: cosselearning@contacts.bham.ac.uk

How to find us

The team is based in Room G26 J. G. Smith Building (find us on the campus map).

Staff contacts

CoSS HEFI Digital Team
NameTitlePhoneEmail
Kabir Ganguly Partnership and Development Manager 48310 k.ganguly@bham.ac.uk  
Rummi Bassi Distance Learning Developer 44401 r.s.bassi@bham.ac.uk 
Previlla Devi Support Officer 44216 p.devi@bham.ac.uk
James Gormley Assistant Technical Teacher
for Marketing Communications
48315 j.gormley@bham.ac.uk
Helen Greetham Digital Learning Officer 42724 h.greetham@bham.ac.uk
Nathan Johnson Senior Learning Technologist 47995 n.johnson@bham.ac.uk
Karol Kosinski Instructional Designer 42267 k.k.kosinski@bham.ac.uk
Richard Morgan TEL Developer 58637 r.morgan.1@bham.ac.uk
Frederick O'Loughlin Instructional Designer - f.j.oloughlin@bham.ac.uk

Our expertise

Blended learning: The team can help design, implement and support your technology-enhanced teaching, at a pace that you are happy with. We are here to assist you with the whole process.

Training for groups or individuals: Canvas, distance and blended learning are our specialties, but we can provide training for groups or individuals on other topics too.

Online distance learning: The team has many years of hands-on experience in the development, delivery, and administration of online distance learning courses. We have been heavily involved in Masters-level programmes for IDD, the well established WebAutism programme, and many distance learning CPD courses for the School of Education.

Multimedia development: If you have an idea for a piece of multimedia work, our Developer may be able to implement it. Ideal candidates for such work are interactive diagrams or animations.

Online help: Try our online staff support site for information on using Canvas. Our guides aim to combine technical advice with pedagogical suggestions.

School administrative support: The team can help plan, initiate and support large-scale administrative changes within your School. Examples include the switch to online submission, provision of online student handbooks, and the integration of plagiarism detection software into School quality processes.

Staff training and development

To book a place on one of our courses please select from the list below: