2012 OSCARS results

The award categories and winners for 2012 are:

Best Customer Experience Award

The individual or team who provides the best service experience to their customers.

Highly commended: Linda Smart / Cleaning Services Library

Winner: Stewart Turner / Chef Staff House

Most Inspirational Team Member Award

The individual whose positive attitude and values have inspired others or provided the best support for their colleagues.

Special mention: Jo Wheatley / venuebirmingham

Highly commended: Alan Diss / Fusion Kitchen Porter

Winner: Heidi Stephens / Library Café

Achievement of the Year Award

This award is for a team or individual whose contribution to a project or improvement to a process has had a significant impact and benefit to the University and/or its customers.

Highly commended: Lizzie Eustace / Sustainable Projects Co-ordinator

Winner: Jenna Beech / Fresh Thinking

Leader of the Year Award

This award is for any line manager, team leader or supervisor who has inspired performance through encouragement, development and motivation of their team during the last twelve months.

Highly commended: Nicola Cartwright / Fresh Thinking and Starbucks Manager

Winner: Sarah James / venuebirmingham

Team of the Year Award

The team who have demonstrated flexibility, motivation, commitment and enthusiasm and have shown their ability to work collaboratively as a group in order to achieve a common goal or departmental objective.

Highly commended: Matthew Fitzpatrick / Traffic Control Officers

Winner: Chris Hoad / Security Team

Make a Difference (MAD) Award

This award may be for a team or individual that has introduced or been involved with a new idea or innovation that has had a significant improvement and made a difference to their business area.

Highly commended: Adam Thickett / Raymond Priestley Centre

Winner: Kalpesh Palmer / Rios

Business Supporter of the Year Award

This is a dedicated individual from the wider University community (not a HAS colleague) who has provided exceptional support to enable us to deliver HAS objectives and improve our customer experience.

Highly commended: Matt Bridge / Senior Lecture in Coaching and Sports Science

Winner: Mark Roche and Team / Grounds and Gardens.

Directors Newcomer: Spencer Lee

Directors Team Award: Security and Traffic Services

Director Award: Andrew Aldridge

See the 2013 winners here


Professional Services