Management Committee of the Research Computing (BEAR) Environment

Terms of Reference and Remit

Membership of the RESEARCH COMPUTING MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE is drawn from academic researchers and IT Services staff. It exists to ensure the academic needs of researchers are being addressed by the RESEARCH COMPUTING (BEAR) ENVIRONMENT, and to oversee and advise on its operation and development.


1. The Management Committee will have a maximum of FOURTEEN members, three from IT Services and eleven academic representatives of the Colleges who have an active interest in using central, advanced computing facilities in their research.

2. The Committee shall be quorate if at least three members of academic staff are present.

3. The Pro-Vice Chancellors (Estates and Infrastructure, and Research) have a standing invitation to the Committee.

4. At least one representative from each College will be sought; Colleges will be asked to nominate members.

5. The Chair of the Committee will be a member of academic staff and agreed by the members of the Committee.

6. If a member of the Committee is unable to be present at a meeting a deputy may attend in their place.

7. Other members may be co-opted onto the Committee or invited to attend specific meetings, at the discretion of the Chair.

8. Meetings will be held at least FOUR times a year; additional meetings may be called at the discretion of the Chair.

9. Membership of the Committee will be reviewed every two years.


The meeting exists to:

1. advise Research Committee on the research computing strategy for the University, and oversee its implementation. 2. advise IT Services on the academic need of services to be delivered by the BEAR.

3. recommend new services and developments to BEAR which would benefit researchers. Where funding exists, the Committee may authorise such developments subject to their compatibility with IT Services plans and capacity. Where no funding exists the Committee will make representation to the University.

4. act as the University’s Research Data Storage Management Board (RDSMB) and undertake the duties as defined in the Research Data Storage Management Policy

5. consider operational policies for BEAR, based on recommendations made by the TECHNICAL POLICY SUB-GROUP. Such operational policies would include but are not be limited to:

      a. default filestore,

      b. run-time allocations,

     c. configuration of the scheduling system to maintain an equitable share of the resources for all users.

Data management

6. consider and adjudicate on any special requests for resources outside of the norm (for example exclusive use of a large number of nodes over an extended period of time, or requests for unusually large amounts of filestore, ) which have been referred from the Technical Policy Sub-group. Users may make a direct approach to the Management Committee where they wish to appeal a decision of the Technical Policy Sub-group.

7. consider suggestions from Users for further development of BEAR, and hear any concerns.

8. formulate and oversee implementation of the strategic development of BEAR.

9. make recommendations on University strategy as it affects the operation of BEAR.

10. Collaborate with IT Services’ to create and agree the research support strategy as it relates to BEAR.

11. appraise requests from research groups to enhance, or which impact, BEAR by funding specific items of infrastructure which have been referred by the Technical Policy Sub-group.

12. consider and where appropriate recommend proposals for research partnerships between members of the University and the research partners.

13. oversee and advise on any costs and charges which may be applied for use of BEAR.

14. oversee the development and advise on the Communication Plan for the Research Computing Environment.

15. Access to BEAR for researchers who are not members of the University, and any charges which may apply, will be considered by and adjudicated on by the Management Committee.


The Management Committee reports to the University Research Committee. Reports are also provided to the IT Infrastructure Group, chaired by the Pro-Vice Chancellor (Estates and Infrastructure).

Last Modified: 10 November 2014