Welfare tutors 

Each School has its own Welfare Tutor/Wellbeing Officer(s) able to provide practical support for you if you are experiencing personal problems that interfere with your academic work.

They can recommend sources of professional help and, if appropriate, arrange extensions for particular pieces of work or bring your issues to the attention of the examination boards. However, it is up to you to ask for their assistance in a timely manner.

You can also approach Student Support in the Aston Webb Student Hub. If you need support with your academic work, you should see your Personal Academic Tutor within your Department. 

Find your Welfare Tutor

Choose your School to find contact details for your Welfare Tutor/Wellbeing Officer:

 Biosciences

Student Wellbeing Officer

  • Grace Page

Tel: 0121 414 3822

Email: PageG@adf.bham.ac.uk

For more information, see the College Welfare Canvas page.

 Birmingham Business School

  • Paula Douglas

Tel: 0121 414 7791

  • Renee Douglas

Tel: 0121 414 6655

  • Lisa Doughty

Tel: 0121 414 3593

  • Frances Bertram

Tel: 0121 414 2724

  • Georgina Bromley

Tel: 0121 414 3217

Email: bbs.welfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Undergraduates

  • Paolo Di Martino (year 2)

Tel: 0121 414 2548

Email: p.dimartino@bham.ac.uk

  • Caroline Chapain (year 3)

Tel: 0121 414 2292

Email: c.a.chapain@bham.ac.uk

Accounting and Finance (Years 1 - 3) UG 

  • Nishat Azmat 

Tel: 0121 414 7792

Email: azmatn@adf.bham.ac.uk

Doctoral researchers

  • Linda Hsieh

Tel: 0121 414 6697

Email: h.hsieh@bham.ac.uk

 Birmingham International Academy

  • Ricky Joseph

Tel: 0121 414 7233

Email: r.joseph@bham.ac.uk

 Birmingham Law School

  • Libby Proctor

Tel: 0121 414 6273

  • Kate Hands Harvey

Tel: 0121 414 5503

Email: law.welfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Office (G2) drop in hours:

Mondays 12.00 - 1.00pm and 4.00 - 5.00pm
Tuesdays 10 - 11am and 3.00 - 4.00pm
Wednesdays 9.00 - 11.00am
Thursdays 1.30 - 3.30pm
Fridays 9.30 - 10.30am and 2.00 - 3.00pm

 Chemical Engineering

  • Aminur Rahman

Email: chemengwellbeing@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Drop in hours: Monday – Friday, 2.30-3.30pm

  • Dr. Helen Onyeka

Tel: 0121 414 5292

Email: h.onyeaka@bham.ac.uk

 Chemistry

  • Mia Wright

Email: chemwelfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Drop in hours: Monday – Friday, 10-11am

 Computer Science

  • Mia Wright

Email: cswelfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Drop in hours: Monday – Friday, 2-3pm

 Dentistry

  • Pamela Grant

Email: MDSstudentservicesdesk@contacts.bham.ac.uk

  • Dr. Kirsty Hill

Tel: 0121 466 5488

Email: k.b.hill@bham.ac.uk

 Education

  • Tonie Stolberg

Tel: 0121 415 8395

Email: t.l.stolberg@bham.ac.uk

  • Adrian Leech

Tel: 0121 415 8238

Email: a.leech@bham.ac.uk

 English, Drama and American and Canadian Studies

  • Iain Cormack

Tel: 0121 414 7013

Location: Arts G22

Email: edacswelfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

  • Sonia Suman

Tel: 0121 414 9200

Location: Arts G22

Email: edacswelfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

 Engineering


  • Jack Carter

Tel: 0121 414 4267

Email: engineeringwelfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Drop in hours: Monday – Friday, 10-11am and 12:30-1:30pm

 Geography, Earth and Environmental Sciences

  • Grace Page

Tel: 0121 414 3822

Email: PageG@adf.bham.ac.uk

Geography

  • Mark Ledger

Tel: 0121 414 5540

Email: m.e.ledger@bham.ac.uk

CURS Postgraduate taught students

  • Dr. Mike Beazley

Tel: 0121 414 3278

Email: m.j.beazley@bham.ac.uk

  • Dr Peter Lee

Tel: 0121 414 3645

Email: p.w.lee@bham.ac.uk

DEHRM Postgraduate taught students

  • Zena Lynch

Tel: 0121 414 5556

Email: z.w.lynch@bham.ac.uk

Geology

  • Dr. Alan Herbert

Tel: 0121 414 9130

Email: a.w.herbert@bham.ac.uk

For more information, see the College Welfare Canvas page.

 Government and Society

  • Warren Evans

Tel: 0121 414 8060

Email: gandswelfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

  • Jen Hayes

Tel: 0121 414 8452

Email: gandswelfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

 History and Cultures


  • Adrian Powney

Tel: 0121 414 5436

Email: shacwelfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

  • Penny Hewlett

Tel: 0121 414 6867

Email: shacwelfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

 Languages, Cultures, Art History and Music

  • Dee Partridge

Tel: 0121 415 8372

Email: d.partridge@bham.ac.uk

Liberal Arts and Sciences

  • Graham Davies

Tel: 0121 415 8236

Email: g.k.davies@bham.ac.uk

 Mathematics

Statistics

  • Biman Chakraborty (Lead Welfare Tutor)

Tel: 0121 414 6460

Email: b.chakraborty@bham.ac.uk

 Medical School

MDSstudentservicesdesk@contacts.bham.ac.uk

 

Student Services Centre (MDS)

  • Rebecca Varney (Manager)

Tel: 0121 414 7830

Email: r.c.varney@bham.ac.uk

MBChB

  • Miranda Pallan (Senior Welfare Tutor MBChB)

Tel: 0121 414 7990

Email: m.j.pallan@bham.ac.uk

  • Dr Shilpa Purandare (MBChB Year 1) 

Tel: 0121 414 7104 

Email: s.purandare@bham.ac.uk

  • Dr Carole Cummins (MBChB Year 2) 

Tel: 0121 414 8625

Email: c.l.cummins.20@bham.ac.uk

  • Derek Ward (MBChB Year 3)

Email: d.j.ward@bham.ac.uk

  • Dr Martin Chidgey (MBChB Year 4)

Tel: 0121 414 6068

Email: m.a.chidgey@bham.ac.uk

  • Dr Rachel Upthegrove (MBChB Year 5)

Tel: 0121 301 2355 

Email: r.upthegrove@bham.ac.uk

BMedSc Medical Science

  • Dr. Wendy Leadbeater (Senior Tutor, BMedSc Medical Science)

Tel: 0121 414 4505 

Email : w.leadbeater@bham.ac.uk

  • Prof. Mary Keen (BMedSc Medical Science Year 1) 

Tel: 0121 414 4511 

Email: m.keen@bham.ac.uk

  • Dr. Mike Lacey (BMedSc Medical Science Year 2) 

Tel: 0121 414 4528 

Email: m.g.lacey@bham.ac.uk

  • Dr. Kevin Whitehead (BMedSc Medical Science Year 3)

Tel: 0121 414 4521

Email: k.j.whitehead@bham.ac.uk

 Metallurgy and Materials

Student Wellbeing Officer

  • Aminur Rahman

Email: metmatwellbeing@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Drop in hours: Monday – Friday, 10-11am

Undergraduate students

  • Mike Jenkins

Tel: 0121 414 2841  

Email: m.j.jenkins@bham.ac.uk

Postgraduate students

  • Dr Stephen Kukureka

Tel: 0121 414 5189

Email: s.n.kukureka@bham.ac.uk

  • Dr Artemis Stamboulis

Tel: 0121 414 5216

Email: a.stamboulis@bham.ac.uk

 Nursing

  • Pamela Grant

Email: MDSstudentservicesdesk@contacts.bham.ac.uk

  • Dr Richard Breakwell (Senior Tutor)

Tel: 0121 415 8608

Email: breakwrl@adf.bham.ac.uk

  • Tracey Valler-Jones

Tel: 0121 415 8588

Email: t.b.valler-jones@bham.ac.uk 

 Pharmacy

  • Alan Jones 

Email: a.m.jones.2@bham.ac.uk

  • Zahraa Jalal

Tel: 0121 414 4042

Email: z.jalal@bham.ac.uk

 Philosophy, Theology and Religion

  • Jo Elkington

Tel: 0121 414 3377

Email: ptrwelfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

 Physics and Astronomy

  • Maria Pavlidou  (Welfare Tutor)

Tel: 0121 414 4632

Email: m.pavlidou@bham.ac.uk

  • Dr. Ian Stevens (Deputy Welfare Tutor)

Tel: 0121 414 6450

Email : i.r.stevens@bham.ac.uk

 Psychology

  • Dr Yolanda Martinez

Tel: 0121 414 3822

Email: leswelfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Postgraduate students

  • Paul Pope

Tel: 0121 414 3338

Email: p.pope@bham.ac.uk

Undergraduate students

  • Dr Pia Rotshtein

Tel: 0121 414 2879

Email: p.rotshtein@bham.ac.uk

  • Natalie Kelly

Tel: 0121 414 2871

Email: n.w.kelly@bham.ac.uk

For more information, see the College Welfare Canvas page.

 Social Policy

  • Mel Hardy

Email: M.Hardy@bham.ac.uk

Health Services Management Centre

  • Hilary Brown 

Tel: 0121 414 7055

Email: h.i.brown@bham.ac.uk

IASS

  • Maureen Smojkis 

Tel: 0121 414 8169

Email: m.n.smojkis@bham.ac.uk

 Sport, Exercise and Rehabilitation Sciences


  • Dr Yolanda Martinez

Tel: 0121 414 3822

Email: leswelfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Sportex

  • Dr Melrose Stewart

Tel: 0121 415 8605

Email: m.stewart@bham.ac.uk

For more information, see the College Welfare Canvas page.