Welfare Tutors/ Wellbeing Officers

Each School has their own Welfare Tutor(s) or Wellbeing Officer(s) able to provide practical and emotional support for you if you are experiencing personal problems that interfere with your academic work.

They can recommend sources of professional help and, if appropriate, will guide you through the extenuating circumstances process. However, it is up to you to ask for their assistance in a timely manner.

Welfare Tutors and Wellbeing Officers are effectively the same position, however some schools use Welfare Tutors and some use Wellbeing Officers. They are both equally able to provide support and assist you with regards to student welfare/wellbeing. There is also a Reasonable Adjustment contact within each School, who will be a Welfare Tutor/Wellbeing Officer.

You can also approach Student Support in the Aston Webb Student Hub. If you need support with your academic work, you should see your Personal Academic Tutor within your Department. 

Find your Welfare Tutor(s) or Wellbeing Officer(s)

Choose your School to find contact details for your Welfare Tutor(s) or Wellbeing Officer(s) below. 

You can contact any of the Welfare Tutors or Wellbeing Officers in your school and they will be able to assist you, some have more than one and some have specified areas (e.g. undergraduate, specific courses). You can select whichever is most suited to you. 

 Biosciences

College Wellbeing Officer

  • Grace Page

Tel: 0121 414 7416

Email: bio-geeswelfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

For more information, see the College Welfare Canvas page.

 Birmingham Business School

  • Paula Douglas

Tel: 0121 414 7791

  • Lisa Doughty

Tel: 0121 414 3593

  • Vickie Glynn
  • Georgina Bromley

Tel: 0121 414 3217

  • Miriam Nicholson

Tel: 0121 414 6761

Email: bbs.welfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Undergraduates

  • Paolo Di Martino (year 2)

Tel: 0121 414 2548

Email: p.dimartino@bham.ac.uk

  • Caroline Chapain (year 3)

Tel: 0121 414 2292

Email: c.a.chapain@bham.ac.uk

Accounting and Finance (Years 1 - 3) UG 

  • Nishat Azmat 

Tel: 0121 414 7792

Email: azmatn@adf.bham.ac.uk

Doctoral researchers

  • Linda Hsieh

Tel: 0121 414 6697

Email: h.hsieh@bham.ac.uk

 Birmingham International Academy

  • Ricky Joseph

Tel: 0121 414 7233

Email: r.joseph@bham.ac.uk

 Birmingham Law School

  • Libby Proctor

Tel: 0121 414 6273

  • Kate Hands Harvey

Tel: 0121 414 5503

Email: law.welfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Office (G2) drop in hours:

Mondays 12.00 - 1.00pm and 4.00 - 5.00pm
Tuesdays 10 - 11am and 3.00 - 4.00pm
Wednesdays 9.00 - 11.00am
Thursdays 1.30 - 3.30pm
Fridays 9.30 - 10.30am and 2.00 - 3.00pm

 Chemical Engineering

  • Aminur Rahman

Email: chemengwellbeing@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Drop in hours: Monday – Thursday, 2.30-3.30pm

  • Dr. Helen Onyeka

Tel: 0121 414 5292

Email: h.onyeaka@bham.ac.uk

 Chemistry

  • Mia Wright

Email: chemwelfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Drop in hours: Monday – Thursday, 10-11am

 Computer Science

  • Mia Wright

Email: cswelfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Drop in hours: Monday – Thursday, 2-3pm

 Dentistry

  • Welfare Tutor: Kirsty Hill                              

Email: K.B.Hill@bham.ac.uk

  • Welfare Tutor: John Morris

Email: A.J.Morris@bham.ac.uk

  • Wellbeing Officer: Pam Grant 

Email: mdsstudentservicesdesk@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Pamela Grant pic

 Education

  • Tonie Stolberg

Tel: 0121 415 8395

Email: t.l.stolberg@bham.ac.uk

  • Adrian Leech

Tel: 0121 415 8238

Email: a.leech@bham.ac.uk

 English, Drama and American and Canadian Studies

  • Iain Cormack

Tel: 0121 414 7013

Location: Arts G22

Email: edacswelfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

  • Sonia Suman

Tel: 0121 414 9200

Location: Arts G22

Email: edacswelfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

 Engineering


  • Jack Carter

Tel: 0121 414 4267

Email: engineeringwelfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Drop in hours: Monday – Thursday, 10-11am and 12:30-1:30pm 

 Geography, Earth and Environmental Sciences

College Wellbeing Officer

  • Grace Page

Tel: 0121 414 7416

Email: bio-geeswelfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Geography

  • Mark Ledger

Tel: 0121 414 5540

Email: m.e.ledger@bham.ac.uk

CURS Postgraduate taught students

  • Dr. Mike Beazley

Tel: 0121 414 3278

Email: m.j.beazley@bham.ac.uk

  • Dr Peter Lee

Tel: 0121 414 3645

Email: p.w.lee@bham.ac.uk

DEHRM Postgraduate taught students

  • Zena Lynch

Tel: 0121 414 5556

Email: z.w.lynch@bham.ac.uk

Geology

  • Dr Paul Anderson 

Tel: 0121 414 6154

Email: P.E.Anderson@bham.ac.uk 

For more information, see the College Welfare Canvas page.

 Government and Society

  • Warren Evans

Tel: 0121 414 8060

Email: gandswelfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

  • Jen Hayes

Tel: 0121 414 8452

Email: gandswelfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

 History and Cultures


  • Adrian Powney

Tel: 0121 414 5436

Email: shacwelfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

  • Penny Hewlett

Tel: 0121 414 6867

Email: shacwelfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

 Languages, Cultures, Art History and Music

  • Dee Partridge

Tel: 0121 415 8372

Email: d.partridge@bham.ac.uk

Liberal Arts and Sciences

  • Graham Davies

Tel: 0121 415 8236

Email: g.k.davies@bham.ac.uk

 Mathematics

  • Natalie Jordan

Email: mathswelfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

 Medical School

MDSstudentservicesdesk@contacts.bham.ac.uk

 

Student Services Centre (MDS)

  • Rebecca Varney (Manager)

Tel: 0121 414 7830

Email: r.c.varney@bham.ac.uk

MBChB

  • Welfare Tutor: Miranda Pallan (Senior Welfare Tutor + GEC 1)                   

Tel: 0121 414 7990

Email: m.j.pallan@bham.ac.uk

  • Welfare Tutor: Shilpa Purandare (Year 1)                             

Tel: 0121 414 7104

Email: s.purandare@bham.ac.uk

  • Welfare Tutor: Carole Cummins (Year 2)                               

Tel: 0121 414 8625

Email: c.l.cummins.20@bham.ac.uk

  • Welfare Tutor: Derek Ward (Year 3)                       

Email: d.j.ward@bham.ac.uk

  • Welfare Tutor: Martyn Chidgey (Year 4)                               

Tel: 0121 414 6068

Email: m.a.chidgey@bham.ac.uk

  • Welfare Tutor: Helen McMillan (Year 5)                

Email: H.A.McMillan@bham.ac.uk

  • Wellbeing Officer Year 1, 2 and GEC: Ross Strong

Email: mdsstudentservicesdesk@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Ross Strong pic

  • Wellbeing Officer Year 3-5: Hannah Lunney

Email: mdsstudentservicesdesk@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Hannah Lunney pic

BMedSc Medical Science

  • Welfare Tutor : Linda Lefievre                   

 Email: L.Lefievre@bham.ac.uk

  • Wellbeing Officer: Emma Wynne-Hughes

Email: mdsstudentservicesdesk@contacts.bham.ac.uk 

Emma Wynne-Hughes pic

Postgraduate Taught         

  • Wellbeing Officer: Emma Wynne-Hughes

Email: mdsstudentservicesdesk@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Postgraduate Research                

  • Wellbeing Officer: Emma Wynne-Hughes

Email: mdsstudentservicesdesk@contacts.bham.ac.uk 

 Metallurgy and Materials

Student Wellbeing Officer

  • Aminur Rahman

Email: metmatwellbeing@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Drop in hours: Monday – Thursday, 10-11am

Undergraduate students

  • Mike Jenkins

Tel: 0121 414 2841  

Email: m.j.jenkins@bham.ac.uk

Postgraduate students

  • Dr Stephen Kukureka

Tel: 0121 414 5189

Email: s.n.kukureka@bham.ac.uk

  • Dr Artemis Stamboulis

Tel: 0121 414 5216

Email: a.stamboulis@bham.ac.uk

 Nursing

  • Welfare Tutor: Tracey Valler-Jones

Email: T.B.Valler-Jones@bham.ac.uk

  • Wellbeing Officer: Pam Grant                   

Email: mdsstudentservicesdesk@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Pamela Grant pic

 Pharmacy

  • Wellbeing Officer Year 1 and 3: Emma Wynne-Hughes

Email: mdsstudentservicesdesk@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Emma Wynne-Hughes pic

  • Wellbeing Officer Year 2 and 4: Ross Strong

Email: mdsstudentservicesdesk@contacts.bham.ac.uk 

Ross Strong pic

 Philosophy, Theology and Religion

  • Anna Read

Tel: 0121 414 3377

Email: ptrwelfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

 Physics and Astronomy

  • Natalie Jordan

Email: physicswelfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

 Psychology

  • Dr Yolanda Martinez

Tel: 0121 414 3822

Email: leswelfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Postgraduate students

  • Paul Pope

Tel: 0121 414 3338

Email: p.pope@bham.ac.uk

Undergraduate students

  • Dr Pia Rotshtein

Tel: 0121 414 2879

Email: p.rotshtein@bham.ac.uk

  • Natalie Kelly

Tel: 0121 414 2871

Email: n.w.kelly@bham.ac.uk

For more information, see the College Welfare Canvas page.

 Social Policy

  • Mel Hardy

Tel: 0121 414 5729

Email: M.Hardy@bham.ac.uk

Health Services Management Centre

  • Hilary Brown 

Tel: 0121 414 7055

Email: h.i.brown@bham.ac.uk

IASS

  • Maureen Smojkis 

Tel: 0121 414 8169

Email: m.n.smojkis@bham.ac.uk

 Sport, Exercise and Rehabilitation Sciences


  • Dr Yolanda Martinez

Tel: 0121 414 3822

Email: leswelfare@contacts.bham.ac.uk

Sportex

  • Dr Melrose Stewart

Tel: 0121 415 8605

Email: m.stewart@bham.ac.uk

For more information, see the College Welfare Canvas page.