Key contacts in the School

Head of School

Professor Julie Allan
Tel:0121 414 4853 (44853)
Email: j.allan.1@bham.ac.uk

Deputy Head of School

Professor Mike McLinden  
Tel: 0121 414 4837 (44837)
Email: M.T.Mclinden@bham.ac.uk

Download a complete contacts list for emails, rooms and telephone numbers of all staff based in the School of Education.

Departmental contact details

Education and Social Justice (ESJ) 

Head of Dept: Dr Reza Gholami
Tel: 0121 414 4826 (42638) 
Email: r.gholami@bham.ac.uk


General enquiries
Email esj-admin@contacts.bham.ac.uk
Tel +44(0)121 415 8240 


General enquiries

Email: disn-admin@contacts.bham.ac.uk
Tel: 0121 414 4831 (44831)  

Teacher Education (DTE)

Head of Dept: Frances Child
Tel: 0121 414 4849 (44849)    
Email: F.Child@bham.ac.uk


General enquiries

Email: dte-admin@contacts.bham.ac.uk
Tel:+44 (0) 121 415 8196  

Other key academics

Director of Education

Dr Kevin Myers 
Tel: 0121 415 8230 (58230)
Email: K.P.Myers@bham.ac.uk

Director of Research 

Professor David Gillborn
Tel: 0121 414 4835 (44835)
Email: d.gillborn@bham.ac.uk

Director of Postgraduate Research

Dr Ben Kotzee
Tel: 0121 414 4823 (44823) 
Email: H.B.Kotzee@bham.ac.uk 

Director of undergraduate programmes

Dr Wendy Symes
Tel: 0121 415 8292 (58292)   
Email: w.symes@bham.ac.uk

Head of Quality Assurance & Enhancement

Neil Hall 
Tel: 0121 414 4841 (44841)  
Email: n.hall.1@bham.ac.uk

Director of Primary Education

Alison Broad 
Tel: 0121 415 8191 (58191)
Email: A.Broad@bham.ac.uk 

Director of Secondary Education

Dr Adam Cooke
Tel: 0121 414 8565 (48565)
Email: a.m.cooke.1@bham.ac.uk 

Senior Tutor

Dr Tracy Whatmore 
Tel: 0121 414 4818 (44818)  
Email: T.Whatmore@bham.ac.uk

Welfare Tutor

Dr Tonie Stolberg  
Tel: 0121 415 8395 (58395)  
Email: T.L.Stolberg@bham.ac.uk

Programme specific contacts

Download spreadsheet of programme support

Undergraduate ug-education@contacts.bham.ac.uk
PGR research pgreducation-enquiries@contacts.bham.ac.uk
Autism Children (DE) autismchildren@contacts.bham.ac.uk
Autism Adults (DE) autismadults@contacts.bham.ac.uk
Bilingualism in Education bilingualism@contacts.bham.ac.uk
Character Education p.m.watts@bham.ac.uk
Educational Leadership school-improvement@contacts.bham.ac.uk
Hearing Impairment (HI) hearingimpairment@contacts.bham.ac.uk
Inclusion and Special Educational Needs (ISEN) isen@contacts.bham.ac.uk
Language Literacies & Dyslexia (LLD) languageliteraciesdyslexia@contacts.bham.ac.uk
Leadership of Educational Inclusion senco@contacts.bham.ac.uk
MA Education  (and pathways) maeducation@contacts.bham.ac.uk
Multi-Sensory Impairment (MSI) multisensoryimpairment@contacts.bham.ac.uk
SENCO senco@contacts.bham.ac.uk  
Severe, Profound and Multiple Learning Difficulties (SPMLD) spmld@contacts.bham.ac.uk
Social Emotional and Behavioural Difficulties (SEBD) sebd@contacts.bham.ac.uk
Special Educational Needs and Disabilities (SEND) send@contacts.bham.ac.uk
TESOL Education tesol-msc@contacts.bham.ac.uk
Visual Impairment (VI) visualimpairment@contacts.bham.ac.uk 
Webautism webautism@contacts.bham.ac.uk 

College and university services

College of Social Sciences Facilities

Rita Whitehouse is the School Facilities Manager.
Tel: 44801  email: SOC-c-cossfacilities@adf.bham.ac.uk

Please report any faults concerning the building or services therein to Reception in the first instance.

IT Services. For all enquiries, fault reporting and requests please log a call using the IT Service Desk.

College Research Support Office

College Marketing and Communications Team

College e-Learning team

College Reprographics 

Estates Office including Maintenance and Development

Hopitality and Accomodation Services (HAS) including:
Cleaning, ID Cards, Portering, Postal Services, Transport,
Environmental Services etc.

Security

Health & Safety 

Research 

research-office-soe@contacts.bham.ac.uk   

Colleges

Professional Services